tru Weight Loss Review
Semaglutide & tirzepatide GLP-1 weight-loss telehealth · Independently scored 6.3/10
Best for: compounded semaglutide at $299/month
tru Weight Loss' strongest column is the clinical side: which molecules it will prescribe, and how it handles dosing.
Some of the links on this page earn us money. If you sign up with a provider after following one, that provider may pay GLP Watchdog a commission. Learn more
Covered by the monthly price
Medication
In the price
Clinician visits
In the price
Shipping
In the price
Lab work
Not stated
Coaching
Not stated
Prices checked August 2026
A 3-month minimum applies, and after that you can cancel at will, at flat rates of 299 dollars per month for semaglutide and 399 dollars per month for tirzepatide. Behavioral and nutritionist coaching, delivery of the drug, a plan built for you, lab work and the telehealth consult are all absorbed by that fee. US-licensed compounding pharmacies ship the compounded tirzepatide and semaglutide. Neha Grover, MD directs truhealthnow out of a Germantown, Maryland clinic. FSA, HSA and insurance are all refused.
Is tru Weight Loss legit?
Yes. tru Weight Loss is a real, operating US company, and we found no FDA warning letters issued to it. We rate it 6.3/10 overall, across six areas from price to trust and safety. Legitimate is not the same as right for you, though: that part is a decision for you and a licensed clinician.
Is there a tru Weight Loss promo or coupon code?
We know of no promo or coupon code for tru Weight Loss. Its listed price is $299 a month. Coupon sites advertising "tru Weight Loss discount codes" are not a source we can vouch for, and any genuine offer shows at checkout without a code.
See how tru Weight Loss compares on our rankings of the best semaglutide providers and the best tirzepatide providers.
Vetted alternatives to tru Weight Loss
Editorial score · methodology
Editorial score · methodology
Embody
Best for: knowing which pharmacy fills the vial: it names RedRock Pharmacy
Editorial score · methodology
tru Weight Loss at a glance
- Type
- GLP-1 telehealth provider
- Medications
- Semaglutide, Tirzepatide
- Starting price
- $299/mo
- Pricing model
- Flat: the price stays the same as the dose goes up
- What's included
- Medication · Consult · Shipping
- FDA status
- No FDA warning letters found
How tru Weight Loss scores
Six columns, each one computed from something tru Weight Loss has published rather than from an opinion we formed: what it charges, which molecules it will dispense, what its record shows, and what the monthly figure actually buys. Where a seller keeps something back, such as its price or its pharmacy, the score reflects it. Every seller we review goes through the same six columns.
Value25%
1.6/10$399/month is 60% above the $250 median for compounded tirzepatide across the sellers we compare.
Effectiveness25%
10.0/10Dispenses semaglutide and tirzepatide, compounded only. Anchored to SURMOUNT-1 (tirzepatide, -20.9%) and STEP 1 (semaglutide, -14.9%).
User Experience15%
8.0/10A price is shown before the questionnaire starts.
Trust & Safety15%
6.5/10No pharmacy is named for its prescriptions. It shows a price before asking for health information.
Accessibility10%
5.0/10No state list is available to check, so this is held at the midpoint rather than scored on reach.
Support10%
7.0/10The price covers the medication, clinician visits and shipping.
A seller that shows no price until after the medical intake loses points on User Experience and Trust & Safety, and its review says so. How we score →
What we checked on tru Weight Loss
Last checked August 2026- Checked the listed price across 2 dose or plan tiers
- Checked what the monthly price covers, and what it leaves out
- Checked FDA warning letters for tru Weight Loss
Price, availability, and compliance here are read off the seller's own pages and off primary regulatory records, named in the sources below.
What signing up with tru Weight Loss involves
What to expect on the way to a prescription: where the price appears, who fills the medication, and what the monthly price covers. It is not medical advice, and a clinician makes the prescribing decision.
- 1tru Weight Loss shows a price on its own site before asking anything about you, so you can compare it with other sellers before you start a questionnaire.
- 2Ask tru Weight Loss which pharmacy fills the prescription before you pay. The pharmacy's name is what lets you check its license.
- 3The monthly price includes the medication, clinician visits and shipping.
- Lowest ongoing monthly price: semaglutide $299, tirzepatide $399. That leaves out membership fees, first-month rates and insurance copays.
- Confirm that tru Weight Loss serves your state before you start.
- The medication is compounded, so it is not an FDA-approved product and has not been reviewed by the agency for safety, effectiveness or manufacturing quality.
Contacting tru Weight Loss
- Phone
- (301) 428-1070
Cancelling tru Weight Loss
Taken from the terms tru Weight Loss publishes. Terms change, so check the current policy before you subscribe.
- Cancel any time
- No, a minimum commitment applies
- Minimum commitment
- 3-month prepay
- Refund policy
- Not published by the seller
GLP-1 medications tru Weight Loss offers
Each one has its own guide: how the molecule works, the dosing schedule, the side effects that show up in practice, and what the trials actually measured.
Pricing
Prices re-verified
3-month minimum then cancel anytime; includes consult, labs, coaching, and delivery
3-month minimum then cancel anytime; includes consult, labs, coaching, and delivery
Check the price yourself before you pay
Every figure here was read off tru Weight Loss's own checkout on the date shown. Sellers move prices without announcing it, and promotional rates lapse, so confirm the standing cost on their site before committing.
In its favor
- Shows its price before the medical questionnaire, so you can compare it without handing over health information
- The monthly price stays the same as your dose goes up
- The monthly price includes the medication, clinician visits and shipping
- We found no FDA warning letters issued to tru Weight Loss
Against it
- Semaglutide costs $299 a month, 62% above the $185 median for compounded semaglutide across the sellers we compare
- Tirzepatide costs $399 a month, 60% above the $250 median for compounded tirzepatide across the sellers we compare
- Confirm it serves your state before you start the intake
- Ask which pharmacy fills the prescription before you pay, so you can check its license
- Its semaglutide and tirzepatide are compounded rather than FDA-approved, so they have not been reviewed by the agency for safety, effectiveness or manufacturing quality
What tru Weight Loss charges
tru Weight Loss charges $299/month, and holds that rate across every dose. Flat dose pricing matters more than it sounds: on a tiered plan the bill grows with the dose, so the figure that got you to sign up is not the one you end up paying.
- Compounded semaglutide: $299/month
- Compounded tirzepatide: $399/month
For compounded tirzepatide, the median across the sellers we compare is $250/month, so tru Weight Loss' $399 is a premium, and a premium has to buy something. Check what is bundled before you accept it.
Direct Meds dispenses semaglutide and tirzepatide from $249/month, which makes it the fair comparison to run before you commit here.
What tru Weight Loss dispenses
tru Weight Loss prescribes semaglutide (approved as Wegovy and Ozempic) and tirzepatide (approved as Zepbound and Mounjaro). Between them these are the pair carrying the strongest published outcome data. These are compounded preparations from a licensed pharmacy rather than approved pens, which is where the lower price comes from. A compounded drug is not FDA-approved as a finished product: the specific preparation has not been reviewed for safety, efficacy or manufacturing quality.
Safety and disclosure
tru Weight Loss tells you its price before you start the medical questionnaire. We found no FDA warning letters issued to tru Weight Loss. Because the medication is compounded, the most useful question to ask at intake is which licensed pharmacy fills the prescription. If tru Weight Loss will not tell you, treat that as a warning sign. How we weigh oversight, disclosure and price is set out in our scoring methodology.
Who should look elsewhere
- You care most about the twelve-month total, not the first bill. A flat-rate seller such as Collective will usually win that math.
- You want the FDA-approved pen specifically. Everything listed here is compounded.
- You need insurance to pay for it. tru Weight Loss is cash-pay and does not bill insurance.
It fits if
- you want the price to stop moving as your dose climbs
Our read
tru Weight Loss costs more than the middle of this market. If the extras it charges for are ones you would actually use, that is a defensible trade. If not, the same molecule is available for less. MangoRx is the nearest comparison we review, and worth reading alongside this.
The Bottom Line
tru Weight Loss' strongest column is the clinical side: which molecules it will prescribe, and how it handles dosing.
Before you pay tru Weight Loss
Starting at $299 a month. Check today's price, then start the intake.
Where tru Weight Loss is the wrong choice
No seller suits every reader, and pretending otherwise is the easiest way to sell one. On these three counts, another seller does better.
- If you need the FDA-approved pen rather than a compounded vial, consider Sesame Care.
- If the standing monthly cost is what decides it, consider Collective (from $59/mo).
- If you want a human checking in, not just a prescription, consider ShedRx.
Compare tru Weight Loss head to head
The sellers closest to tru Weight Loss on medication and price.
Frequently Asked Questions
Glossary
The words sellers use, defined. Tap any term.
- Semaglutide · Drugs and brands
- Tirzepatide · Drugs and brands
- Compounded GLP-1 · Pharmacy and drug forms
- 503A pharmacy · Pharmacy and drug forms
- PCAB accreditation · Pharmacy and drug forms
- Prior authorization (PA) · Insurance and regulatory
- Off-label use · Insurance and regulatory
- FDA Drug Shortage List · Insurance and regulatory
Sources
Cited across this tru Weight Loss review: primary regulatory filings, and peer-reviewed studies.
Sources & methodology — as of August 2026
- 1.GLP Watchdog — GLP-1 Pricing Index 2026 (our independent dataset)— GLP Watchdog.
- 2.FDA — Compounding and the 503A Pharmacy Framework— U.S. Food & Drug Administration.
- 3.FDA — Drug Shortages Database (current shortage listings)— U.S. Food & Drug Administration.
- 4.PCAB — Pharmacy Compounding Accreditation Board Standards— Accreditation Commission for Health Care (ACHC) / PCAB.
- 5.KFF — Medicaid coverage research (anti-obesity & GLP-1 drug policy)— Kaiser Family Foundation.
- 6.STEP 1 Trial — Once-Weekly Semaglutide in Adults with Overweight or Obesity (Wilding JPH et al.)— New England Journal of Medicine.PMID: 33567185.
- 7.FDA — Wegovy (semaglutide) Approval History via Drugs@FDA— U.S. Food & Drug Administration.
- 8.FDA — Ozempic (semaglutide) Prescribing Information via Drugs@FDA— U.S. Food & Drug Administration.
- 9.SURMOUNT-1 Trial — Tirzepatide Once Weekly for the Treatment of Obesity (Jastreboff AM et al.)— New England Journal of Medicine.PMID: 35658024.
- 10.FDA — Zepbound (tirzepatide) Approval History via Drugs@FDA— U.S. Food & Drug Administration.
- 11.FDA — Mounjaro (tirzepatide) Prescribing Information via Drugs@FDA— U.S. Food & Drug Administration.
- 12.SURMOUNT-5 Trial — Tirzepatide vs. Semaglutide Head-to-Head in Obesity (Garvey WT et al.)— New England Journal of Medicine.PMID: 40334173.
See tru Weight Loss's current pricing
Plans start at $299 a month. Whether you qualify is a clinician's decision, made after your intake.