Maximus Review
Semaglutide & tirzepatide GLP-1 weight-loss telehealth · Independently scored 6.5/10
Best for: coverage in all 50 states, which most sellers will not confirm
Maximus falls below our bar on oversight: the FDA has issued it a warning letter. Read the breakdown below before you give it money.
Some of the links on this page earn us money. If you sign up with a provider after following one, that provider may pay GLP Watchdog a commission. Learn more
Covered by the monthly price
Medication
In the price
Clinician visits
Not stated
Shipping
In the price
Lab work
Not stated
Coaching
Not stated
Prices checked August 2026
Maximus is a men's health platform selling compounded semaglutide from $149.99/mo on a 12-month plan, plus compounded tirzepatide, alongside testosterone replacement therapy and longevity treatments. It covers all 50 states plus DC, and a microdose protocol is available for patients with less weight to lose.
Is Maximus legit?
Maximus is a real, operating US company, and the FDA has issued it a warning letter. The letter is summarized at the top of this review. Read what it alleges before you decide, and raise it with the clinician who would prescribe for you. We rate Maximus 6.5/10 overall.
Is there a Maximus promo or coupon code?
We know of no promo or coupon code for Maximus. Its listed price is $199.99 a month. Coupon sites advertising "Maximus discount codes" are not a source we can vouch for, and any genuine offer shows at checkout without a code.
See how Maximus compares on our rankings of the best semaglutide providers and the best tirzepatide providers.
Vetted alternatives to Maximus
Trimi Health
Best for: knowing which pharmacy fills the vial: it names VialsRx
Editorial score · methodology
Editorial score · methodology
Editorial score · methodology
Maximus at a glance
- Type
- GLP-1 telehealth provider
- Medications
- Semaglutide, Tirzepatide
- Starting price
- $199.99/mo
- Pricing model
- Flat: the price stays the same as the dose goes up
- What's included
- Medication · Shipping
- Availability
- All 50 states
- FDA status
- 1 FDA warning letter (details below)
How Maximus scores
Six columns, each one computed from something Maximus has published rather than from an opinion we formed: what it charges, which molecules it will dispense, what its record shows, and what the monthly figure actually buys. Where a seller keeps something back, such as its price or its pharmacy, the score reflects it. Every seller we review goes through the same six columns.
Value25%
2.8/10$249.99/month is 35% above the $185 median for compounded semaglutide across the sellers we compare.
Effectiveness25%
10.0/10Dispenses orforglipron, semaglutide and tirzepatide, compounded only. Anchored to SURMOUNT-1 (tirzepatide, -20.9%) and STEP 1 (semaglutide, -14.9%).
User Experience15%
7.5/10A price is shown before the questionnaire starts. A live video visit is required, which is slower but the more careful intake.
Trust & Safety15%
4.5/10The FDA has issued it a warning letter. No pharmacy is named for its prescriptions. It shows a price before asking for health information. It lists the states it serves.
Accessibility10%
10.0/10Serves 51 of 50 states.
Support10%
4.5/10The price covers the medication and shipping.
A seller that shows no price until after the medical intake loses points on User Experience and Trust & Safety, and its review says so. How we score →
What we checked on Maximus
Last checked August 2026- Checked the listed price across 8 dose or plan tiers
- Checked state coverage: all 50
- Checked what the monthly price covers, and what it leaves out
- Checked FDA warning letters for Maximus
Price, availability, and compliance here are read off the seller's own pages and off primary regulatory records, named in the sources below.
What signing up with Maximus involves
What to expect on the way to a prescription: where the price appears, who fills the medication, and what the monthly price covers. It is not medical advice, and a clinician makes the prescribing decision.
- 1Maximus shows a price on its own site before asking anything about you, so you can compare it with other sellers before you start a questionnaire.
- 2The intake requires a live video visit with a clinician before a first prescription, which takes longer than a written form and is the more careful route.
- 3Ask Maximus which pharmacy fills the prescription before you pay. The pharmacy's name is what lets you check its license.
- 4The monthly price includes the medication and shipping.
- Lowest ongoing monthly price: semaglutide $249.99, tirzepatide $359.99. That leaves out membership fees, first-month rates and insurance copays.
- Maximus serves all 50 states.
- The FDA has issued Maximus a warning letter. It is covered in the enforcement section below; read what it alleges before you decide.
- The medication is compounded, so it is not an FDA-approved product and has not been reviewed by the agency for safety, effectiveness or manufacturing quality.
Cancelling Maximus
Taken from the terms Maximus publishes. Terms change, so check the current policy before you subscribe.
- Cancel any time
- Yes
- Minimum commitment
- None
- Refund policy
- Not published by the seller
GLP-1 medications Maximus offers
Each one has its own guide: how the molecule works, the dosing schedule, the side effects that show up in practice, and what the trials actually measured.
Peptides Maximus offers
Maximus sells peptides beyond the GLP-1s. Tap one to read what the evidence says about it.
Pricing
Prices re-verified
4-Month plan $199/mo; 12-Month plan $150/mo ('BEST VALUE... Save $100'); homepage teaser 'GLP-1 Starting at $149.99'; /weight-loss hub also shows 'Starting at $116 /28-day supply' (teaser, unreconciled with product page)
4-Month plan $299/mo; 12-Month plan $240/mo; product page 'Personalized doses from $198 /mo' and hub 'Starting at $198 /28-day supply'; homepage teaser 'GLP-1 + GIP Starting at $249.99'
NEW: brand-name oral GLP-1; 'Foundayo starting at $199.99 /mo'
NEW brand-name option
NEW brand-name option
NEW brand-name option
NEW brand-name option; multi-dose KwikPen at same self-pay price as vial
NEW brand-name option; on-label tirzepatide
Check the price yourself before you pay
Every figure here was read off Maximus's own checkout on the date shown. Sellers move prices without announcing it, and promotional rates lapse, so confirm the standing cost on their site before committing.
In its favor
- Shows its price before the medical questionnaire, so you can compare it without handing over health information
- The monthly price stays the same as your dose goes up
- The monthly price includes the medication and shipping
- Serves all 50 states
- A live video visit with a clinician is required before a prescription, which is slower than a form and is the more careful intake
Against it
- Semaglutide costs $249.99 a month, 35% above the $185 median for compounded semaglutide across the sellers we compare
- Tirzepatide costs $359.99 a month, 44% above the $250 median for compounded tirzepatide across the sellers we compare
- Ask which pharmacy fills the prescription before you pay, so you can check its license
- The FDA has issued Maximus a warning letter. Read what it alleges: a letter flags a problem but does not by itself rule a seller out
- Its orforglipron, semaglutide and tirzepatide are compounded rather than FDA-approved, so they have not been reviewed by the agency for safety, effectiveness or manufacturing quality
What Maximus charges
The standing price at Maximus is $199.99/month, unchanged as the dose goes up. Flat dose pricing matters more than it sounds: on a tiered plan the bill grows with the dose, so the figure that got you to sign up is not the one you end up paying.
- Compounded semaglutide: $249.99/month
- Compounded tirzepatide: $359.99/month
- Compounded orforglipron (foundayo): $199.99/month
- Compounded semaglutide (wegovy): $249.99/month
- Compounded semaglutide (ozempic): $349.99/month
- Compounded semaglutide (wegovy): $349.99/month
For compounded semaglutide, the median across the sellers we compare is $185/month, so Maximus' $249.99 is a premium, and a premium has to buy something. Check what is bundled before you accept it.
HumeCare+ dispenses semaglutide and tirzepatide from $199/month, which makes it the fair comparison to run before you commit here.
What Maximus dispenses
Maximus prescribes semaglutide (approved as Wegovy and Ozempic) and tirzepatide (approved as Zepbound and Mounjaro). Between them these are the pair carrying the strongest published outcome data. These are compounded preparations from a licensed pharmacy rather than approved pens, which is where the lower price comes from. A compounded drug is not FDA-approved as a finished product: the specific preparation has not been reviewed for safety, efficacy or manufacturing quality.
Safety and disclosure
Maximus tells you its price before you start the medical questionnaire and that it treats patients in all 50 states. The FDA has issued Maximus a warning letter, summarized at the top of this page. A letter flags a problem rather than ruling a seller out, so read what it says before deciding what it means for you. Because the medication is compounded, the most useful question to ask at intake is which licensed pharmacy fills the prescription. If Maximus will not tell you, treat that as a warning sign. How we weigh oversight, disclosure and price is set out in our scoring methodology.
Who should look elsewhere
- You care most about the twelve-month total, not the first bill. A flat-rate seller such as Collective will usually win that math.
- You want the FDA-approved pen specifically. Everything listed here is compounded.
- You need insurance to cover the cost. Check whether Maximus bills your plan before you start.
- A seller's regulatory history matters to you more than price. Read the warning letter summarized above before deciding.
It fits if
- you want the price to stop moving as your dose climbs
- you need access wherever you live
Our read
Maximus costs more than the middle of this market. If the extras it charges for are ones you would actually use, that is a defensible trade. If not, the same molecule is available for less. The catch is disclosure, which is why Maximus scores low on Trust & Safety: settle the pharmacy and pricing questions above before the price decides for you. Whatever you decide, read the warning letter summarized at the top of this page first, and raise it with the clinician who would prescribe for you.
The Bottom Line
Maximus falls below our bar on oversight: the FDA has issued it a warning letter. Read the breakdown below before you give it money.
Before you pay Maximus
Starting at $199.99 a month. Check today's price, then start the intake.
Where Maximus is the wrong choice
No seller suits every reader, and pretending otherwise is the easiest way to sell one. On these three counts, another seller does better.
- If you need the FDA-approved pen rather than a compounded vial, consider Sesame Care.
- If the standing monthly cost is what decides it, consider Collective (from $59/mo).
- If you want a human checking in, not just a prescription, consider ShedRx.
Compare Maximus head to head
The sellers closest to Maximus on medication and price.
Frequently Asked Questions
Glossary
The words sellers use, defined. Tap any term.
- Semaglutide · Drugs and brands
- Tirzepatide · Drugs and brands
- Compounded GLP-1 · Pharmacy and drug forms
- 503A pharmacy · Pharmacy and drug forms
- PCAB accreditation · Pharmacy and drug forms
- Prior authorization (PA) · Insurance and regulatory
- Off-label use · Insurance and regulatory
- FDA Drug Shortage List · Insurance and regulatory
Regulatory notice
Maximus has an FDA warning letter on record, dated June 8, 2026
This letter concerns false & misleading claims/misbranded (telehealth). A warning letter is public correspondence from FDA, not an adjudication. On its own it establishes no finding of illegal activity, and a company that gets one often answers with corrective action.
Sources
Cited across this Maximus review: primary regulatory filings, and peer-reviewed studies.
Sources & methodology — as of August 2026
- 1.GLP Watchdog — GLP-1 Pricing Index 2026 (our independent dataset)— GLP Watchdog.
- 2.FDA — Compounding and the 503A Pharmacy Framework— U.S. Food & Drug Administration.
- 3.FDA — Drug Shortages Database (current shortage listings)— U.S. Food & Drug Administration.
- 4.PCAB — Pharmacy Compounding Accreditation Board Standards— Accreditation Commission for Health Care (ACHC) / PCAB.
- 5.KFF — Medicaid coverage research (anti-obesity & GLP-1 drug policy)— Kaiser Family Foundation.
- 6.STEP 1 Trial — Once-Weekly Semaglutide in Adults with Overweight or Obesity (Wilding JPH et al.)— New England Journal of Medicine.PMID: 33567185.
- 7.FDA — Wegovy (semaglutide) Approval History via Drugs@FDA— U.S. Food & Drug Administration.
- 8.FDA — Ozempic (semaglutide) Prescribing Information via Drugs@FDA— U.S. Food & Drug Administration.
- 9.SURMOUNT-1 Trial — Tirzepatide Once Weekly for the Treatment of Obesity (Jastreboff AM et al.)— New England Journal of Medicine.PMID: 35658024.
- 10.FDA — Zepbound (tirzepatide) Approval History via Drugs@FDA— U.S. Food & Drug Administration.
- 11.FDA — Mounjaro (tirzepatide) Prescribing Information via Drugs@FDA— U.S. Food & Drug Administration.
- 12.SURMOUNT-5 Trial — Tirzepatide vs. Semaglutide Head-to-Head in Obesity (Garvey WT et al.)— New England Journal of Medicine.PMID: 40334173.
See Maximus's current pricing
Plans start at $199.99 a month. Whether you qualify is a clinician's decision, made after your intake.