Direct Meds vs GoodRx
GoodRx costs $100 less a month, and both sell tirzepatide.
Some of the links on this page earn us money. If you sign up with a provider after following one, that provider may pay GLP Watchdog a commission. Learn more
If you are choosing between Direct Meds and GoodRx, the first difference is cost: GoodRx is $100 a month cheaper at the entry price. Both prescribe tirzepatide, so moving from one to the other would not change your drug. GoodRx leads our six-part score, 6.9 to 6.4. One of the two has an FDA warning letter on record, covered below.
Direct Meds vs GoodRx price
GoodRx is the cheaper way in: $149 a month against $249 a month at Direct Meds. That is $100 less each month (40% lower), or about $1,200 over a year of treatment.
Drug by drug: Tirzepatide costs the same at both, $299 a month.
Medications and formats
Both sell tirzepatide; only Direct Meds lists semaglutide; only GoodRx lists orforglipron.
On format, Direct Meds prices compounded injections, while GoodRx prices brand-name pens.
If you want the FDA-approved brand rather than a compounded version, GoodRx is the only one of the two with a brand-name price.
Where each one treats patients
Direct Meds does not publish where it ships, and GoodRx lists 50 states.
Pricing
Direct Meds
'As low as $249' per month, on a 90-day supply billed monthly; some doses run as low as $237/mo.
'As low as $297' per month ($9.58 a day), an 84-day three-pack billed monthly.
'As low as $299' per month ($9.65 a day) on a 90-day supply billed monthly. Down from $399 earlier.
'As low as $399' per month ($12.87 a day).
GoodRx
What each price covers
Direct Meds' price also covers the clinician visit, the medication itself and shipping, which GoodRx does not claim.
Direct Meds is silent on lab work and coaching.
GoodRx does not say what its price includes.
That matters most for the drug: unless GoodRx confirms otherwise, budget for medication on top of its listed price.
Direct Meds
Covered by the monthly price
Medication
In the price
Clinician visits
In the price
Shipping
In the price
Lab work
Not stated
Coaching
Not stated
GoodRx
Inclusions not disclosed.
Where each one scores higher
Overall, GoodRx scores 6.9 and Direct Meds 6.4 out of 10.
Direct Meds is stronger on user experience (8.0 vs 5.0) and support (7.0 vs 5.0).
GoodRx is stronger on value (5.0 vs 3.7), trust & safety (6.0 vs 3.5) and accessibility (10.0 vs 5.0).
Effectiveness is within half a point.
Direct Meds
6.4/10
GoodRx
6.9/10
Value25%
Effectiveness25%
User Experience15%
Trust & Safety15%
Accessibility10%
Support10%
FDA warning letters
The FDA sent Direct Meds a warning letter dated September 9, 2025 (letter 716822), and it is still open.
GoodRx has no FDA warning letter on record with us.
Features & Coverage
| Feature | Direct Meds | GoodRx |
|---|---|---|
| Starting Price | $249/mo | ✓$149/mo |
| Features | 5 features | ✓6 features |
| States Available | Not disclosed | 50 |
| Compounded | ✓ Yes | — |
| Brand Name | — | ✓ Yes |
| FSA/HSA Accepted | — | — |
| FDA Warning Letters | 1 letter | ✓None |
About Direct Meds
The FDA sent Direct Meds a warning letter in September 2025 over misleading marketing, and customers have reported a documented pattern of unexpected 3-month commitment charges. We list the company with both disclosed in full; read the warnings and the cons first. Its products are compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide, sold from Utah in injection and sublingual form.
Read our full Direct Meds review →About GoodRx
GoodRx (NASDAQ: GDRX) is the largest US prescription savings platform. It publishes self-pay discount pricing on brand-name GLP-1 medications, with Foundayo (orforglipron) starting at $149/month and the Zepbound KwikPen (tirzepatide) starting at $299/month, redeemable at 70,000+ pharmacies nationwide. It also operates GoodRx Care, a telehealth arm that prescribes GLP-1s with online visits starting at $39.
Read our full GoodRx review →Pros & Cons
Direct Meds
What we like
- Shows its price before the medical questionnaire, so you can compare it without handing over health information
- The monthly price includes the medication, clinician visits and shipping
Watch-outs
- Semaglutide costs $249 a month, 35% above the $184 median for compounded semaglutide across the sellers we compare
- Tirzepatide costs $299 a month, 20% above the $250 median for compounded tirzepatide across the sellers we compare
- Confirm it serves your state before you start the intake
- Ask which pharmacy fills the prescription before you pay, so you can check its license
- The FDA has issued Direct Meds a warning letter. Read what it alleges: a letter flags a problem but does not by itself rule a seller out
- Its semaglutide and tirzepatide are compounded rather than FDA-approved, so they have not been reviewed by the agency for safety, effectiveness or manufacturing quality
GoodRx
What we like
- Orforglipron costs $149 a month, close to the $149 median for brand-name orforglipron across the sellers we compare
- Tirzepatide costs $299 a month, 76% below the $1249 median for brand-name tirzepatide across the sellers we compare
- Serves all 50 states
- We found no FDA warning letters issued to GoodRx
Watch-outs
- Ask which pharmacy fills the prescription before you pay, so you can check its license
Our Verdict
Direct Meds is where we would start, above all for compounded semaglutide at $249/month. GoodRx undercuts it by $100 a month, so if the monthly bill is what decides it, GoodRx is the pick. GoodRx fits better if oral orforglipron alongside the injectables is your priority.
Choose Direct Meds if…
You want compounded semaglutide at $249/month and an opening price near $249 a month.
Choose GoodRx if…
You want oral orforglipron alongside the injectables and an opening price near $149 a month.
Ready to start? GLP-1 providers we have vetted
Telehealth providers, vetted by us, prescribing GLP-1 online.
Vetted by our editors · no insurance required
Some of the links on this page earn us money. If you sign up with a provider after following one, that provider may pay GLP Watchdog a commission. Learn more
Wellorithm
Compounded semaglutide at $247/month
From $247/mo
Get started →Willow
Seeing what it charges before you answer any medical questions
From $299/mo
Get started →Sesame Care
Oral orforglipron alongside the injectables
From $59/mo
Get started →Direct Meds vs GoodRx: FAQ
Close alternatives to Direct Meds and GoodRx
- Direct Meds vs Henry Meds
- Direct Meds vs Fridays
- Direct Meds vs Luvo Health
- Direct Meds vs RxSpan MD
- GoodRx vs Found
- GoodRx vs Kin Meds
Or see the full category ranking.
Novo Nordisk A/S owns the Wegovy®, Ozempic® and Rybelsus® marks; Eli Lilly and Company owns Mounjaro® and Zepbound®. Every other product name and mark on this page belongs to whoever owns it. No pharmaceutical manufacturer is affiliated with GLP Watchdog. See trademark disclaimer.
