Center for Medical Weight Loss (CMWL) vs PlushCare
Center for Medical Weight Loss (CMWL) and PlushCare both sell semaglutide and tirzepatide; this is how their prices, coverage and records differ.
Some of the links on this page earn us money. If you sign up with a provider after following one, that provider may pay GLP Watchdog a commission. Learn more
Center for Medical Weight Loss (CMWL)
Best for: compounded semaglutide at $149/month
Visit Center for Medical Weight Loss (CMWL) →PlushCare
Best for: coverage in all 50 states, which most sellers will not confirm
Visit PlushCare →If you are choosing between Center for Medical Weight Loss (CMWL) and PlushCare, price alone will not settle it. Both prescribe semaglutide and tirzepatide, so moving from one to the other would not change your drug. Center for Medical Weight Loss (CMWL) leads our six-part score, 7.5 to 6.4.
Center for Medical Weight Loss (CMWL) vs PlushCare price
Center for Medical Weight Loss (CMWL) and PlushCare start at the same figure, $149 a month, so the entry price does not separate them. Look at what each price covers and at the per-drug prices below.
Drug by drug: Semaglutide costs the same at both, $149 a month; tirzepatide is cheaper at Center for Medical Weight Loss (CMWL) ($239 a month vs $399 a month).
Medications and formats
Both sell semaglutide and tirzepatide.
On format they match: each offers compounded injections.
Where each one treats patients
Center for Medical Weight Loss (CMWL) does not publish where it ships, and PlushCare lists 50 states.
Pricing
Center for Medical Weight Loss (CMWL)
Standing month\u002dto\u002dmonth rate. /compounded\u002dsemaglutide publishes '3 month plan $116/month | Monthly plan $149/month'; the 3\u002dmonth plan bills for 3 months at $116/mo (349 dollars total). Billing on 3\u002dmonth plans runs every 10 weeks for a 12\u002dweek supply, per the site's own note.
Standing month\u002dto\u002dmonth rate. /compounded\u002dtirzepatide publishes '3 month plan $159/month | Monthly plan $239/month'; the 3\u002dmonth plan bills for 3 months at $159/mo (477 dollars total). Same 10\u002dweek billing cycle on 3\u002dmonth plans.
PlushCare
Range up to $299/mo
Range up to $599/mo
What each price covers
Center for Medical Weight Loss (CMWL)'s price also covers the clinician visit, the medication itself and shipping, which PlushCare does not claim.
Center for Medical Weight Loss (CMWL) is silent on lab work and coaching.
PlushCare is silent on shipping and coaching.
That matters most for the drug: unless PlushCare confirms otherwise, budget for medication on top of its listed price.
Center for Medical Weight Loss (CMWL)
Covered by the monthly price
Medication
In the price
Clinician visits
In the price
Shipping
In the price
Lab work
Not stated
Coaching
Not stated
PlushCare
Covered by the monthly price
Medication
Charged on top
Clinician visits
Charged on top
Shipping
Not stated
Lab work
Charged on top
Coaching
Not stated
Where each one scores higher
Overall, Center for Medical Weight Loss (CMWL) scores 7.5 and PlushCare 6.4 out of 10.
Center for Medical Weight Loss (CMWL) is stronger on value (6.6 vs 3.0), user experience (8.0 vs 7.0) and support (7.0 vs 0.0).
PlushCare is stronger on trust & safety (7.5 vs 6.5) and accessibility (10.0 vs 5.0).
Effectiveness is within half a point.
Center for Medical Weight Loss (CMWL)
7.5/10
PlushCare
6.4/10
Value25%
Effectiveness25%
User Experience15%
Trust & Safety15%
Accessibility10%
Support10%
FDA warning letters
Neither Center for Medical Weight Loss (CMWL) nor PlushCare has an FDA warning letter on record with us.
Features & Coverage
| Feature | Center for Medical Weight Loss (CMWL) | PlushCare |
|---|---|---|
| Starting Price | $149/mo | $149/mo |
| Features | 6 features | ✓8 features |
| States Available | Not disclosed | 50 |
| Compounded | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| Brand Name | — | — |
| FSA/HSA Accepted | — | — |
| FDA Warning Letters | None | None |
About Center for Medical Weight Loss (CMWL)
Take the three-month plan and the rates fall to 116 and 159 dollars per month; month to month they are 149 dollars for compounded semaglutide and 239 dollars for compounded tirzepatide. Microdosing costs less still. Dose does not change any figure. Everything runs 100 percent online under physician supervision, approval typically lands inside 24 hours, and shipping costs nothing. Certain states cannot take part. Compounded meds are not FDA-approved.
Read our full Center for Medical Weight Loss (CMWL) review →About PlushCare
PlushCare is an established virtual primary-care telehealth platform and a subsidiary of Transcarent, Inc., a Delaware corporation that also owns Accolade, 2nd.MD, and 98point6 by Transcarent. Virtual visits with US board-certified physicians cost $30 per appointment insured and $129 self-pay. GLP-1 prescribing is a clinician-discretionary option within the broader primary-care relationship.
Read our full PlushCare review →Pros & Cons
Center for Medical Weight Loss (CMWL)
What we like
- Semaglutide costs $149 a month, 19% below the $185 median for compounded semaglutide across the sellers we compare
- Tirzepatide costs $239 a month, close to the $250 median for compounded tirzepatide across the sellers we compare
- Shows its price before the medical questionnaire, so you can compare it without handing over health information
- The monthly price stays the same as your dose goes up
- The monthly price includes the medication, clinician visits and shipping
- We found no FDA warning letters issued to Center for Medical Weight Loss (CMWL)
Watch-outs
- Confirm it serves your state before you start the intake
- Ask which pharmacy fills the prescription before you pay, so you can check its license
- Its semaglutide and tirzepatide are compounded rather than FDA-approved, so they have not been reviewed by the agency for safety, effectiveness or manufacturing quality
PlushCare
What we like
- Shows its price before the medical questionnaire, so you can compare it without handing over health information
- Serves all 50 states
- We found no FDA warning letters issued to PlushCare
- A live video visit with a clinician is required before a prescription, which is slower than a form and is the more careful intake
- Baseline bloodwork is required before a prescription
Watch-outs
- Not included in the monthly price: medication, clinician visits, lab work
- Ask which pharmacy fills the prescription before you pay, so you can check its license
- Its semaglutide and tirzepatide are compounded rather than FDA-approved, so they have not been reviewed by the agency for safety, effectiveness or manufacturing quality
Our Verdict
Center for Medical Weight Loss (CMWL) wins this one, 7.5 to 6.4, above all for compounded semaglutide at $149/month. PlushCare fits better if coverage in all 50 states, which most sellers will not confirm is your priority.
Choose Center for Medical Weight Loss (CMWL) if…
You want compounded semaglutide at $149/month and an opening price near $149 a month.
Choose PlushCare if…
You want coverage in all 50 states, which most sellers will not confirm and an opening price near $149 a month.
Ready to start? GLP-1 providers we have vetted
Telehealth providers, vetted by us, prescribing GLP-1 online.
Vetted by our editors · no insurance required
Some of the links on this page earn us money. If you sign up with a provider after following one, that provider may pay GLP Watchdog a commission. Learn more
Lttl
Starting below a standard dose, with microdose tiers
From $149/mo
Get started →Direct Meds
Compounded semaglutide at $249/month
From $249/mo
Get started →MEDGm
Month-to-month compounded semaglutide at $179 with the partner pharmacies named
From $179/mo
Get started →Center for Medical Weight Loss (CMWL) vs PlushCare: FAQ
Close alternatives to Center for Medical Weight Loss (CMWL) and PlushCare
- Center for Medical Weight Loss (CMWL) vs altRX
- Center for Medical Weight Loss (CMWL) vs Trinity Meds
- Center for Medical Weight Loss (CMWL) vs Gala
- PlushCare vs altRX
- PlushCare vs Trinity Meds
- PlushCare vs Gala
Or see the full category ranking.