Apex MD vs Sunlight
Apex MD and Sunlight both sell semaglutide and tirzepatide; this is how their prices, coverage and records differ.
Some of the links on this page earn us money. If you sign up with a provider after following one, that provider may pay GLP Watchdog a commission. Learn more
If you are choosing between Apex MD and Sunlight, price alone will not settle it. Both prescribe semaglutide and tirzepatide, so moving from one to the other would not change your drug. Apex MD leads our six-part score, 7.0 to 6.4.
Apex MD vs Sunlight price
Apex MD and Sunlight start at the same figure, $299 a month, so the entry price does not separate them. Look at what each price covers and at the per-drug prices below.
Drug by drug: Semaglutide costs the same at both, $299 a month; tirzepatide is cheaper at Sunlight ($379 a month vs $399 a month).
Medications and formats
Both sell semaglutide and tirzepatide.
On format they match: each offers compounded injections.
Where each one treats patients
Apex MD lists 51 states, and Sunlight does not publish where it ships.
Pricing
Apex MD
weekly injection, includes NAD/B-12/L-Carnitine, month-to-month
weekly injection, month-to-month
daily oral
daily oral
Sunlight
Site price card shows $299 struck through to $159 first month ('Get $140 Off Today'); FAQ: 'semaglutide starts at $159 per month... for the first month.'
Site price card shows $379 struck through to $239 first month; FAQ: 'tirzepatide at $239 per month for the first month.'
What each price covers
Both prices cover the clinician visit, the medication itself and shipping.
Apex MD is silent on lab work and coaching.
Sunlight is silent on lab work and coaching.
Apex MD
Covered by the monthly price
Medication
In the price
Clinician visits
In the price
Shipping
In the price
Lab work
Not stated
Coaching
Not stated
Sunlight
Covered by the monthly price
Medication
In the price
Clinician visits
In the price
Shipping
In the price
Lab work
Not stated
Coaching
Not stated
Where each one scores higher
Overall, Apex MD scores 7.0 and Sunlight 6.4 out of 10.
Apex MD is stronger on trust & safety (8.5 vs 6.5) and accessibility (10.0 vs 5.0).
Sunlight is stronger on user experience (8.0 vs 7.5).
Value, effectiveness and support are within half a point.
Apex MD
7.0/10
Sunlight
6.4/10
Value25%
Effectiveness25%
User Experience15%
Trust & Safety15%
Accessibility10%
Support10%
FDA warning letters
Neither Apex MD nor Sunlight has an FDA warning letter on record with us.
Features & Coverage
| Feature | Apex MD | Sunlight |
|---|---|---|
| Starting Price | $299/mo | $299/mo |
| Features | ✓8 features | 7 features |
| States Available | 51 | Not disclosed |
| Compounded | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| Brand Name | — | — |
| FSA/HSA Accepted | — | — |
| FDA Warning Letters | None | None |
About Apex MD
By injection each week: 299 dollars per month covers compounded semaglutide, 399 dollars compounded tirzepatide. Swallowed daily instead, semaglutide is 349 dollars per month and tirzepatide 419 dollars. L-Carnitine, B-12 and NAD are added into the formulations. No extra fee attaches to Labcorp labs or to provider visits, of which there is no limit, and the package usually arrives inside four business days. Microdosing is on the menu, and licensure covers all 50 states.
Read our full Apex MD review →About Sunlight
Advertised rates are $159/month on compounded semaglutide, $239/month on compounded tirzepatide, but both are first-month rates; confirm the steady-state price at intake. A single flat monthly rate bundles free shipping and unlimited telehealth visits. Sunlight is LegitScript-certified and calls itself a cost-disrupting alternative to branded GLP-1s, which it describes as high-priced.
Read our full Sunlight review →Pros & Cons
Apex MD
What we like
- Shows its price before the medical questionnaire, so you can compare it without handing over health information
- The monthly price stays the same as your dose goes up
- The monthly price includes the medication, clinician visits and shipping
- Serves all 50 states
- We found no FDA warning letters issued to Apex MD
- Baseline bloodwork is required before a prescription
Watch-outs
- Semaglutide costs $299 a month, 62% above the $185 median for compounded semaglutide across the sellers we compare
- Tirzepatide costs $399 a month, 60% above the $250 median for compounded tirzepatide across the sellers we compare
- Ask which pharmacy fills the prescription before you pay, so you can check its license
- Its semaglutide and tirzepatide are compounded rather than FDA-approved, so they have not been reviewed by the agency for safety, effectiveness or manufacturing quality
Sunlight
What we like
- Shows its price before the medical questionnaire, so you can compare it without handing over health information
- The monthly price stays the same as your dose goes up
- The monthly price includes the medication, clinician visits and shipping
- We found no FDA warning letters issued to Sunlight
Watch-outs
- Semaglutide costs $299 a month, 62% above the $185 median for compounded semaglutide across the sellers we compare
- Tirzepatide costs $379 a month, 52% above the $250 median for compounded tirzepatide across the sellers we compare
- Confirm it serves your state before you start the intake
- Ask which pharmacy fills the prescription before you pay, so you can check its license
- Its semaglutide and tirzepatide are compounded rather than FDA-approved, so they have not been reviewed by the agency for safety, effectiveness or manufacturing quality
Our Verdict
Apex MD wins this one, 7.0 to 6.4, above all for an oral route if you will not self-inject. Sunlight fits better if compounded semaglutide at $299/month is your priority.
Choose Apex MD if…
You want an oral route if you will not self-inject and an opening price near $299 a month.
Choose Sunlight if…
You want compounded semaglutide at $299/month and an opening price near $299 a month.
Ready to start? GLP-1 providers we have vetted
Telehealth providers, vetted by us, prescribing GLP-1 online.
Vetted by our editors · no insurance required
Some of the links on this page earn us money. If you sign up with a provider after following one, that provider may pay GLP Watchdog a commission. Learn more
ShedRx
Oral orforglipron alongside the injectables
From $149/mo
Get started →bmiMD
Starting below a standard dose, with microdose tiers
From $99/mo
Get started →RxSpan MD
Knowing which pharmacy fills the vial: it names Belmar Pharmacy
From $249/mo
Get started →Apex MD vs Sunlight: FAQ
Close alternatives to Apex MD and Sunlight
- Apex MD vs TrimRx
- Apex MD vs Remedy Meds
- Apex MD vs Willow
- Apex MD vs Claya
- Sunlight vs TrimRx
- Sunlight vs Remedy Meds
Or see the full category ranking.