Price and states served both move. Read them off the seller's own site before you enroll.How our reviews work →

Allara Health vs Direct Meds

Allara Health and Direct Meds sell different medications; this is what separates them.

Some of the links on this page earn us money. If you sign up with a provider after following one, that provider may pay GLP Watchdog a commission. Learn more

By Ruth Calder · Enforcement Editor
Editorially reviewed & fact-checked against primary sources · How we verify contentLast reviewed
Allara Health logo

Allara Health

6.1
★★★☆☆3.1/5

Best for: coaching bundled into the price rather than sold separately

Visit Allara Health →
VS
Direct Meds logo

Direct Meds

6.4
★★★☆☆3.2/5

Best for: compounded semaglutide at $249/month

Visit Direct Meds →

If you are choosing between Allara Health and Direct Meds, price alone will not settle it. Direct Meds leads our six-part score, 6.4 to 6.1. One of the two has an FDA warning letter on record, covered below.

Allara Health vs Direct Meds price

Direct Meds publishes $249 a month. Allara Health does not post a GLP-1 price we can quote, so you would only learn its cost after an intake.

Medications and formats

Direct Meds lists semaglutide and tirzepatide; Allara Health does not name its drug.

On format, Allara Health posts no priced format, while Direct Meds prices compounded injections.

Where each one treats patients

Neither Allara Health nor Direct Meds publishes the states it serves, so enter your state at the very start of each sign-up.

Pricing

Allara Health

Complete Care membership (self-pay)Brand-name
$149/mo
semaglutide

Direct Meds

SublingualCompounded
$249/mo
semaglutide

'As low as $249' per month, on a 90-day supply billed monthly; some doses run as low as $237/mo.

InjectionCompounded
$297/mo
semaglutide

'As low as $297' per month ($9.58 a day), an 84-day three-pack billed monthly.

SublingualCompounded
$299/mo
tirzepatide

'As low as $299' per month ($9.65 a day) on a 90-day supply billed monthly. Down from $399 earlier.

InjectionCompounded
$399/mo
tirzepatide

'As low as $399' per month ($12.87 a day).

What each price covers

Both prices cover the clinician visit.

Allara Health's price also covers coaching, which Direct Meds does not claim.

Direct Meds' price also covers the medication itself and shipping, which Allara Health does not claim.

Allara Health is silent on shipping and lab work.

Direct Meds is silent on lab work and coaching.

That matters most for the drug: unless Allara Health confirms otherwise, budget for medication on top of its listed price.

Allara Health

Covered by the monthly price

Medication

Charged on top

Clinician visits

In the price

Shipping

Not stated

Lab work

Not stated

Coaching

In the price

Direct Meds

Covered by the monthly price

Medication

In the price

Clinician visits

In the price

Shipping

In the price

Lab work

Not stated

Coaching

Not stated

Where each one scores higher

Overall, Direct Meds scores 6.4 and Allara Health 6.1 out of 10.

Allara Health is stronger on trust & safety (6.5 vs 3.5).

Direct Meds is stronger on value (3.7 vs 3.0), effectiveness (10.0 vs 9.0) and support (7.0 vs 4.0).

User experience and accessibility are within half a point.

How we score

Allara Health

6.1/10

Overall

Direct Meds

6.4/10

Value25%

3.0A
vs
B
3.7

Effectiveness25%

9.0A
vs
B
10.0

User Experience15%

8.0A
vs
B
8.0

Trust & Safety15%

6.5A
vs
B
3.5

Accessibility10%

5.0A
vs
B
5.0

Support10%

4.0A
vs
B
7.0

FDA warning letters

The FDA sent Direct Meds a warning letter dated September 9, 2025 (letter 716822), and it is still open.

Allara Health has no FDA warning letter on record with us.

Features & Coverage

FeatureAllara HealthDirect Meds
Starting PriceNot published$249/mo
Features✓7 features5 features
States AvailableNot disclosedNot disclosed
Compounded—✓ Yes
Brand Name✓ Yes—
FSA/HSA Accepted——
FDA Warning Letters✓None1 letter

About Allara Health

Insurance is accepted, in which case the patient owes a copay or deductible; paying cash instead costs $149/month under Complete Care, while nutrition coaching alone is $125/month. Allara Health focuses on metabolic and hormonal health in women, PCOS included, across 44 states plus DC. FDA-approved branded GLP-1s, Wegovy and Zepbound among them, can be prescribed, as can oral drugs including Metformin, Contrave and Topiramate. Dietitians work beside board-certified physicians and NPs, including endocrinologists and OB-GYNs. The company reports 45,000+ women served.

Read our full Allara Health review →

About Direct Meds

The FDA sent Direct Meds a warning letter in September 2025 over misleading marketing, and customers have reported a documented pattern of unexpected 3-month commitment charges. We list the company with both disclosed in full; read the warnings and the cons first. Its products are compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide, sold from Utah in injection and sublingual form.

Read our full Direct Meds review →

Pros & Cons

Allara Health

What we like

  • Shows its price before the medical questionnaire, so you can compare it without handing over health information
  • The monthly price includes clinician visits and coaching
  • We found no FDA warning letters issued to Allara Health

Watch-outs

  • Not included in the monthly price: medication
  • Confirm it serves your state before you start the intake
  • Ask which pharmacy fills the prescription before you pay, so you can check its license

Direct Meds

What we like

  • Shows its price before the medical questionnaire, so you can compare it without handing over health information
  • The monthly price includes the medication, clinician visits and shipping

Watch-outs

  • Semaglutide costs $249 a month, 35% above the $184 median for compounded semaglutide across the sellers we compare
  • Tirzepatide costs $299 a month, 20% above the $250 median for compounded tirzepatide across the sellers we compare
  • Confirm it serves your state before you start the intake
  • Ask which pharmacy fills the prescription before you pay, so you can check its license
  • The FDA has issued Direct Meds a warning letter. Read what it alleges: a letter flags a problem but does not by itself rule a seller out
  • Its semaglutide and tirzepatide are compounded rather than FDA-approved, so they have not been reviewed by the agency for safety, effectiveness or manufacturing quality

Our Verdict

Winner: Direct Meds

Direct Meds wins this one, 6.4 to 6.1, above all for compounded semaglutide at $249/month. Allara Health fits better if coaching bundled into the price rather than sold separately is your priority.

Choose Allara Health if…

You want coaching bundled into the price rather than sold separately.

Choose Direct Meds if…

You want compounded semaglutide at $249/month and an opening price near $249 a month.

Ready to start? GLP-1 providers we have vetted

Telehealth providers, vetted by us, prescribing GLP-1 online.

Vetted by our editors · no insurance required

Some of the links on this page earn us money. If you sign up with a provider after following one, that provider may pay GLP Watchdog a commission. Learn more

6.6

Willow

Seeing what it charges before you answer any medical questions

6.5

Sesame Care

Oral orforglipron alongside the injectables

8.4

Collective

Flat any-dose pricing, if you can absorb a $199 annual membership on top

Allara Health vs Direct Meds: FAQ

Only Direct Meds publishes a price ($249 a month). Allara Health quotes after sign-up.
No. Allara Health lists no named drug; Direct Meds lists semaglutide and tirzepatide.
Allara Health does not publish where it ships; Direct Meds does not publish where it ships. Confirm your state before paying.
Both include the clinician visit. Only Allara Health includes coaching. Only Direct Meds includes the medication itself and shipping.
Allara Health has none. Direct Meds has an open FDA warning letter from September 9, 2025.
Direct Meds pays us a commission on sign-ups through our links; Allara Health does not. Scores are computed the same way for both.

Or see the full category ranking.