Direct Meds vs Gala
Gala costs $100 less a month, and both sell semaglutide and tirzepatide.
Some of the links on this page earn us money. If you sign up with a provider after following one, that provider may pay GLP Watchdog a commission. Learn more
If you are choosing between Direct Meds and Gala, the first difference is cost: Gala is $100 a month cheaper at the entry price. Both prescribe semaglutide and tirzepatide, so moving from one to the other would not change your drug. Gala leads our six-part score, 8.7 to 6.4. One of the two has an FDA warning letter on record, covered below.
Direct Meds vs Gala price
Gala is the cheaper way in: $149 a month against $249 a month at Direct Meds. That is $100 less each month (40% lower), or about $1,200 over a year of treatment.
Drug by drug: Semaglutide is cheaper at Gala ($179 a month vs $249 a month); tirzepatide is cheaper at Gala ($149 a month vs $299 a month).
Medications and formats
Both sell semaglutide and tirzepatide.
On format, Direct Meds prices compounded injections, while Gala prices compounded injections and brand-name pens.
If you want the FDA-approved brand rather than a compounded version, Gala is the only one of the two with a brand-name price.
Where each one treats patients
Direct Meds does not publish where it ships, and Gala lists 50 states.
Pricing
Direct Meds
'As low as $249' per month, on a 90-day supply billed monthly; some doses run as low as $237/mo.
'As low as $297' per month ($9.58 a day), an 84-day three-pack billed monthly.
'As low as $299' per month ($9.65 a day) on a 90-day supply billed monthly. Down from $399 earlier.
'As low as $399' per month ($12.87 a day).
Gala
$179/mo on a yearly subscription, all doses included. Gala's FAQ says 'starting at just $199 per month (with a 3-month plan).' A promo page offers 'starting at $129/month with $120 off your first shipment' on monthly, 3-, 6- and 12-month plans. Exact plan prices appear only after the intake questionnaire.
$179/month on a yearly subscription, all doses included; the $120-off-first-shipment promo applies. Tirzepatide plan prices are shown only after intake.
$149/month, yearly subscription; 'Low-dose GLP-1/GIP for sustained energy, sleep and metabolic balance.'
'Ozempic® Brand-name semaglutide $1,299/month' — unchanged. Wegovy pill still 'Coming soon / Pricing at launch' (not a priced row).
What each price covers
Both prices cover the clinician visit, the medication itself and shipping.
Direct Meds is silent on lab work and coaching.
Gala is silent on lab work and coaching.
Direct Meds
Covered by the monthly price
Medication
In the price
Clinician visits
In the price
Shipping
In the price
Lab work
Not stated
Coaching
Not stated
Gala
Covered by the monthly price
Medication
In the price
Clinician visits
In the price
Shipping
In the price
Lab work
Not stated
Coaching
Not stated
Where each one scores higher
Overall, Gala scores 8.7 and Direct Meds 6.4 out of 10.
Gala is stronger on value (8.7 vs 3.7), trust & safety (7.5 vs 3.5) and accessibility (10.0 vs 5.0).
Effectiveness, user experience and support are within half a point.
Direct Meds
6.4/10
Gala
8.7/10
Value25%
Effectiveness25%
User Experience15%
Trust & Safety15%
Accessibility10%
Support10%
FDA warning letters
The FDA sent Direct Meds a warning letter dated September 9, 2025 (letter 716822), and it is still open.
Gala has no FDA warning letter on record with us.
Features & Coverage
| Feature | Direct Meds | Gala |
|---|---|---|
| Starting Price | $249/mo | ✓$149/mo |
| Features | 5 features | ✓7 features |
| States Available | Not disclosed | 50 |
| Compounded | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| Brand Name | — | ✓ Yes |
| FSA/HSA Accepted | — | — |
| FDA Warning Letters | 1 letter | ✓None |
About Direct Meds
The FDA sent Direct Meds a warning letter in September 2025 over misleading marketing, and customers have reported a documented pattern of unexpected 3-month commitment charges. We list the company with both disclosed in full; read the warnings and the cons first. Its products are compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide, sold from Utah in injection and sublingual form.
Read our full Direct Meds review →About Gala
A yearly subscription is the format: compounded semaglutide and compounded tirzepatide are sold that way, with a cheaper microdosing program beside them and brand-name Ozempic on the same menu. The corporate name is AI Coaching Inc., which does business as Gala GLP-1 and is incorporated in Delaware. Providers licensed in every one of the 50 states, plus shipping at no cost, are what the marketing site claims. A Wegovy pill taken orally is flagged as coming soon.
Read our full Gala review →Pros & Cons
Direct Meds
What we like
- Shows its price before the medical questionnaire, so you can compare it without handing over health information
- The monthly price includes the medication, clinician visits and shipping
Watch-outs
- Semaglutide costs $249 a month, 35% above the $184 median for compounded semaglutide across the sellers we compare
- Tirzepatide costs $299 a month, 20% above the $250 median for compounded tirzepatide across the sellers we compare
- Confirm it serves your state before you start the intake
- Ask which pharmacy fills the prescription before you pay, so you can check its license
- The FDA has issued Direct Meds a warning letter. Read what it alleges: a letter flags a problem but does not by itself rule a seller out
- Its semaglutide and tirzepatide are compounded rather than FDA-approved, so they have not been reviewed by the agency for safety, effectiveness or manufacturing quality
Gala
What we like
- Semaglutide costs $179 a month, close to the $184 median for compounded semaglutide across the sellers we compare
- Tirzepatide costs $149 a month, 40% below the $250 median for compounded tirzepatide across the sellers we compare
- Shows its price before the medical questionnaire, so you can compare it without handing over health information
- The monthly price stays the same as your dose goes up
- The monthly price includes the medication, clinician visits and shipping
- Serves all 50 states
- We found no FDA warning letters issued to Gala
Watch-outs
- Ask which pharmacy fills the prescription before you pay, so you can check its license
- Its semaglutide and tirzepatide are compounded rather than FDA-approved, so they have not been reviewed by the agency for safety, effectiveness or manufacturing quality
Our Verdict
Gala wins this one, 8.7 to 6.4, above all for moving between compounded and brand without changing seller. It also costs $100 less each month than Direct Meds. Direct Meds fits better if compounded semaglutide at $249/month is your priority.
Choose Direct Meds if…
You want compounded semaglutide at $249/month and an opening price near $249 a month.
Choose Gala if…
You want moving between compounded and brand without changing seller and an opening price near $149 a month.
Ready to start? GLP-1 providers we have vetted
Telehealth providers, vetted by us, prescribing GLP-1 online.
Vetted by our editors · no insurance required
Some of the links on this page earn us money. If you sign up with a provider after following one, that provider may pay GLP Watchdog a commission. Learn more
HealthRX
Compounded semaglutide at $133/month
From $133/mo
Get started →RNK Health
An oral route if you will not self-inject
From $197/mo
Get started →He & She MD
Starting below a standard dose, with microdose tiers
From $99/mo
Get started →Direct Meds vs Gala: FAQ
Close alternatives to Direct Meds and Gala
- Direct Meds vs Henry Meds
- Direct Meds vs Fridays
- Direct Meds vs Luvo Health
- Direct Meds vs RxSpan MD
- Gala vs altRX
- Gala vs Sprout Health
Or see the full category ranking.
Novo Nordisk A/S owns the Wegovy®, Ozempic® and Rybelsus® marks; Eli Lilly and Company owns Mounjaro® and Zepbound®. Every other product name and mark on this page belongs to whoever owns it. No pharmaceutical manufacturer is affiliated with GLP Watchdog. See trademark disclaimer.
