Contour Health vs Effecty
Contour Health and Effecty both sell semaglutide and tirzepatide; this is how their prices, coverage and records differ.
Some of the links on this page earn us money. If you sign up with a provider after following one, that provider may pay GLP Watchdog a commission. Learn more
Contour Health
Best for: seeing what it charges before you answer any medical questions
Visit Contour Health →Effecty
Best for: moving between compounded and brand without changing seller
Visit Effecty →If you are choosing between Contour Health and Effecty, price alone will not settle it. Both prescribe semaglutide and tirzepatide, so moving from one to the other would not change your drug. Effecty leads our six-part score, 8.2 to 6.5.
Contour Health vs Effecty price
Contour Health and Effecty start at the same figure, $160 a month, so the entry price does not separate them. Look at what each price covers and at the per-drug prices below.
Drug by drug: Semaglutide costs the same at both, $160 a month; tirzepatide is cheaper at Effecty ($240 a month vs $300 a month).
Medications and formats
Both sell semaglutide and tirzepatide.
On format, Contour Health prices compounded injections, while Effecty prices compounded injections and brand-name pens.
If you want the FDA-approved brand rather than a compounded version, Effecty is the only one of the two with a brand-name price.
Where each one treats patients
Contour Health does not publish where it ships, and Effecty lists 50 states.
Pricing
Contour Health
The $250 starting package covers a medical assessment, a tailored plan and 8-10 weeks of medication and supplies (2.5-20mg vials). After that you pay per vial; Contour puts the average monthly cost at $160 at a typical 0.5-1.5mg/week dose.
The $500 starting package covers a medical assessment, a tailored plan and 8-10 weeks of medication and supplies (20-120mg vials). After that you pay per vial; Contour puts the average monthly cost at $300 at a typical 2.5-5mg/week dose.
Effecty
$60 first month, then $160/mo on the 12-month plan.
$105 first month, then $205/mo.
NEW tirzepatide-class dual-agonist line. $140 first month, then $240/mo on the 12-month plan.
$205 first month, then $305/mo.
What each price covers
Both prices cover the clinician visit and the medication itself.
Effecty's price also covers shipping, which Contour Health does not claim.
Contour Health is silent on shipping, lab work and coaching.
Effecty is silent on lab work and coaching.
Contour Health
Covered by the monthly price
Medication
In the price
Clinician visits
In the price
Shipping
Not stated
Lab work
Not stated
Coaching
Not stated
Effecty
Covered by the monthly price
Medication
In the price
Clinician visits
In the price
Shipping
In the price
Lab work
Not stated
Coaching
Not stated
Where each one scores higher
Overall, Effecty scores 8.2 and Contour Health 6.5 out of 10.
Effecty is stronger on value (6.0 vs 3.0), trust & safety (8.5 vs 6.5), accessibility (10.0 vs 5.0) and support (7.0 vs 5.5).
Effectiveness and user experience are within half a point.
Contour Health
6.5/10
Effecty
8.2/10
Value25%
Effectiveness25%
User Experience15%
Trust & Safety15%
Accessibility10%
Support10%
FDA warning letters
Neither Contour Health nor Effecty has an FDA warning letter on record with us.
Features & Coverage
| Feature | Contour Health | Effecty |
|---|---|---|
| Starting Price | $160/mo | $160/mo |
| Features | ✓8 features | 7 features |
| States Available | Not disclosed | 50 |
| Compounded | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| Brand Name | — | ✓ Yes |
| FSA/HSA Accepted | — | — |
| FDA Warning Letters | None | None |
About Contour Health
Billing is per vial, not a flat monthly subscription. A starting package costs $250 for semaglutide or $500 for tirzepatide and covers an 8-10 week supply; ongoing costs average $160/mo and $300/mo. Contour Health, trading as Desert Contour LLC, is based in Utah and names Strive Pharmacy, a 503A pharmacy, as its compounding partner for semaglutide and tirzepatide. Consultations are free. Named nurse practitioners and a board-certified medical director oversee care.
Read our full Contour Health review →About Effecty
Compounded GLP-1 injections cost $160-$205/mo at Effecty, which also carries the brand-name drugs Mounjaro, Zepbound, Wegovy and Ozempic. There are no membership fees, shipping reaches all states nationwide, and the platform is LegitScript certified.
Read our full Effecty review →Pros & Cons
Contour Health
What we like
- Shows its price before the medical questionnaire, so you can compare it without handing over health information
- The monthly price includes the medication and clinician visits
- We found no FDA warning letters issued to Contour Health
Watch-outs
- Confirm it serves your state before you start the intake
- Ask which pharmacy fills the prescription before you pay, so you can check its license
- Its semaglutide and tirzepatide are compounded rather than FDA-approved, so they have not been reviewed by the agency for safety, effectiveness or manufacturing quality
Effecty
What we like
- Semaglutide costs $160 a month, 14% below the $185 median for compounded semaglutide across the sellers we compare
- Tirzepatide costs $240 a month, close to the $250 median for compounded tirzepatide across the sellers we compare
- Shows its price before the medical questionnaire, so you can compare it without handing over health information
- The monthly price stays the same as your dose goes up
- The monthly price includes the medication, clinician visits and shipping
- Serves all 50 states
- We found no FDA warning letters issued to Effecty
Watch-outs
- Ask which pharmacy fills the prescription before you pay, so you can check its license
- Its semaglutide and tirzepatide are compounded rather than FDA-approved, so they have not been reviewed by the agency for safety, effectiveness or manufacturing quality
Our Verdict
Effecty wins this one, 8.2 to 6.5, above all for moving between compounded and brand without changing seller. Contour Health fits better if seeing what it charges before you answer any medical questions is your priority.
Choose Contour Health if…
You want seeing what it charges before you answer any medical questions and an opening price near $160 a month.
Choose Effecty if…
You want moving between compounded and brand without changing seller and an opening price near $160 a month.
Ready to start? GLP-1 providers we have vetted
Telehealth providers, vetted by us, prescribing GLP-1 online.
Vetted by our editors · no insurance required
Some of the links on this page earn us money. If you sign up with a provider after following one, that provider may pay GLP Watchdog a commission. Learn more
SnagRx
Semaglutide at $99/month, 48% below the typical price
From $99/mo
Get started →Embody
Knowing which pharmacy fills the vial: it names RedRock Pharmacy
From $79/mo
Get started →YourEra
Semaglutide at $99/month, 63% below the typical price
From $99/mo
Get started →Contour Health vs Effecty: FAQ
Close alternatives to Contour Health and Effecty
- Contour Health vs Blue Sky MD
- Contour Health vs Coby Health
- Contour Health vs LeanDose
- Effecty vs Vytora Health
- Effecty vs altRX
- Effecty vs Gala
Or see the full category ranking.
Novo Nordisk A/S owns the Wegovy®, Ozempic® and Rybelsus® marks; Eli Lilly and Company owns Mounjaro® and Zepbound®. Every other product name and mark on this page belongs to whoever owns it. No pharmaceutical manufacturer is affiliated with GLP Watchdog. See trademark disclaimer.