Price and states served both move. Read them off the seller's own site before you enroll.How our reviews work →

altRX vs Effecty

altRX costs $11 less a month, and both sell semaglutide and tirzepatide.

Some of the links on this page earn us money. If you sign up with a provider after following one, that provider may pay GLP Watchdog a commission. Learn more

By Ruth Calder · Enforcement Editor
Editorially reviewed (not clinically reviewed). Not medical advice · How we verify contentLast reviewed
altRX logo

altRX

7.6
★★★★☆3.8/5

Best for: semaglutide from $1149/month

Visit altRX →
VS
Effecty logo

Effecty

8.2
★★★★☆4.1/5

Best for: moving between compounded and brand without changing seller

Visit Effecty →

If you are choosing between altRX and Effecty, the first difference is cost: altRX is $11 a month cheaper at the entry price. Both prescribe semaglutide and tirzepatide, so moving from one to the other would not change your drug. Effecty leads our six-part score, 8.2 to 7.6. One of the two has an FDA warning letter on record, covered below.

altRX vs Effecty price

altRX is the cheaper way in: $149 a month against $160 a month at Effecty. That is $11 less each month (7% lower), or about $132 over a year of treatment.

Drug by drug: Semaglutide is cheaper at altRX ($149 a month vs $160 a month); tirzepatide is cheaper at Effecty ($240 a month vs $249 a month).

Medications and formats

Both sell semaglutide and tirzepatide.

On format they match: each offers compounded injections and brand-name pens.

Where each one treats patients

altRX lists 50 states, and Effecty lists 50 states.

They overlap in 50 states.

Pricing

altRX

Compounded GLP-1 (semaglutide) starting tierCompounded
$149/mo
semaglutide
Compounded GLP-1/GIP (tirzepatide) starting tierCompounded
$249/mo
tirzepatide
Brand-name Ozempic®Brand-name
$1149/mo
semaglutide
Brand-name Mounjaro®Brand-name
$1249/mo
tirzepatide
Brand-name Zepbound®Brand-name
$1249/mo
tirzepatide
Brand-name Wegovy®Brand-name
$1579/mo
semaglutide

Effecty

Compounded GLP-1 (12-mo plan)Compounded
$160$60/mo
Save 63% right now
semaglutide

$60 first month, then $160/mo on the 12-month plan.

Compounded GLP-1 (1-mo)Compounded
$205$105/mo
Save 49% right now
semaglutide

$105 first month, then $205/mo.

Compounded GLP-1+GIP (tirzepatide-class, 12-mo plan)Compounded
$240$140/mo
Save 42% right now
tirzepatide

NEW tirzepatide-class dual-agonist line. $140 first month, then $240/mo on the 12-month plan.

Compounded GLP-1+GIP (tirzepatide-class, 1-mo)Compounded
$305$205/mo
Save 33% right now
tirzepatide

$205 first month, then $305/mo.

OzempicBrand-name
$1300/mo
semaglutide
WegovyBrand-name
$1600/mo
semaglutide
ZepboundBrand-name
$1400/mo
tirzepatide
MounjaroBrand-name
$1300/mo
tirzepatide

What each price covers

Both prices cover the clinician visit, the medication itself and shipping.

altRX is silent on lab work and coaching.

Effecty is silent on lab work and coaching.

altRX

Covered by the monthly price

Medication

In the price

Clinician visits

In the price

Shipping

In the price

Lab work

Not stated

Coaching

Not stated

Effecty

Covered by the monthly price

Medication

In the price

Clinician visits

In the price

Shipping

In the price

Lab work

Not stated

Coaching

Not stated

Where each one scores higher

Overall, Effecty scores 8.2 and altRX 7.6 out of 10.

Effecty is stronger on value (6.0 vs 5.0) and trust & safety (8.5 vs 6.0).

Effectiveness, user experience, accessibility and support are within half a point.

How we score

altRX

7.6/10

Overall

Effecty

8.2/10

Value25%

5.0A
vs
B
6.0

Effectiveness25%

10.0A
vs
B
10.0

User Experience15%

8.0A
vs
B
8.0

Trust & Safety15%

6.0A
vs
B
8.5

Accessibility10%

10.0A
vs
B
10.0

Support10%

7.0A
vs
B
7.0

FDA warning letters

The FDA sent altRX a warning letter dated June 8, 2026 (letter 728236), and it is still open.

Effecty has no FDA warning letter on record with us.

Features & Coverage

FeaturealtRXEffecty
Starting Price✓$149/mo$160/mo
Features✓8 features7 features
States Available5050
Compounded✓ Yes✓ Yes
Brand Name✓ Yes✓ Yes
FSA/HSA Accepted——
FDA Warning Letters1 letter✓None

About altRX

Compounded plans open at $149 for semaglutide and $249 for tirzepatide. Branded medication runs $1,149-$1,579, a figure that already contains the consult and the shipping. Every one of the four FDA-approved brands is stocked, Mounjaro, Ozempic, Wegovy and Zepbound, which no other entry in our directory matches. altRX works in both modalities, holds LegitScript certification, and prints the FDA compounded-medication disclaimer.

Read our full altRX review →

About Effecty

Compounded GLP-1 injections cost $160-$205/mo at Effecty, which also carries the brand-name drugs Mounjaro, Zepbound, Wegovy and Ozempic. There are no membership fees, shipping reaches all states nationwide, and the platform is LegitScript certified.

Read our full Effecty review →

Pros & Cons

altRX

What we like

  • Tirzepatide costs $1249 a month, close to the $1249 median for brand-name tirzepatide across the sellers we compare
  • Shows its price before the medical questionnaire, so you can compare it without handing over health information
  • The monthly price includes the medication, clinician visits and shipping
  • Serves all 50 states
  • Names 4 pharmacies that fill its prescriptions, which most sellers do not

Watch-outs

  • Semaglutide costs $1149 a month, 15% above the $997 median for brand-name semaglutide across the sellers we compare
  • The FDA has issued altRX a warning letter. Read what it alleges: a letter flags a problem but does not by itself rule a seller out
  • Its semaglutide and tirzepatide are compounded rather than FDA-approved, so they have not been reviewed by the agency for safety, effectiveness or manufacturing quality

Effecty

What we like

  • Semaglutide costs $160 a month, 14% below the $185 median for compounded semaglutide across the sellers we compare
  • Tirzepatide costs $240 a month, close to the $250 median for compounded tirzepatide across the sellers we compare
  • Shows its price before the medical questionnaire, so you can compare it without handing over health information
  • The monthly price stays the same as your dose goes up
  • The monthly price includes the medication, clinician visits and shipping
  • Serves all 50 states
  • We found no FDA warning letters issued to Effecty

Watch-outs

  • Ask which pharmacy fills the prescription before you pay, so you can check its license
  • Its semaglutide and tirzepatide are compounded rather than FDA-approved, so they have not been reviewed by the agency for safety, effectiveness or manufacturing quality

Our Verdict

Winner: Effecty

Effecty wins this one, 8.2 to 7.6, above all for moving between compounded and brand without changing seller. altRX undercuts it by $11 a month, so if the monthly bill is what decides it, altRX is the pick. altRX fits better if semaglutide from $1149/month is your priority.

Choose altRX if…

You want semaglutide from $1149/month and an opening price near $149 a month.

Choose Effecty if…

You want moving between compounded and brand without changing seller and an opening price near $160 a month.

Ready to start? GLP-1 providers we have vetted

Telehealth providers, vetted by us, prescribing GLP-1 online.

Vetted by our editors · no insurance required

Some of the links on this page earn us money. If you sign up with a provider after following one, that provider may pay GLP Watchdog a commission. Learn more

9.4

Trimi Health

Knowing which pharmacy fills the vial: it names VialsRx

6.4

ShedRx

Oral orforglipron alongside the injectables

9.0

bmiMD

Starting below a standard dose, with microdose tiers

altRX vs Effecty: FAQ

altRX. It starts at $149 a month; Effecty starts at $160 a month, $11 more per month.
Yes, both sell semaglutide and tirzepatide.
Both list 50 states and share 50.
Both include the clinician visit, the medication itself and shipping.
altRX has an open FDA warning letter from June 8, 2026. Effecty has none.
No. Neither altRX nor Effecty pays us anything.

Or see the full category ranking.

Novo Nordisk A/S owns the Wegovy®, Ozempic® and Rybelsus® marks; Eli Lilly and Company owns Mounjaro® and Zepbound®. Every other product name and mark on this page belongs to whoever owns it. No pharmaceutical manufacturer is affiliated with GLP Watchdog. See trademark disclaimer.