PlushCare vs TrimRx
PlushCare costs $30 less a month, and both sell semaglutide and tirzepatide.
Some of the links on this page earn us money. If you sign up with a provider after following one, that provider may pay GLP Watchdog a commission. Learn more
PlushCare
Best for: coverage in all 50 states, which most sellers will not confirm
Visit PlushCare →If you are choosing between PlushCare and TrimRx, the first difference is cost: PlushCare is $30 a month cheaper at the entry price. Both prescribe semaglutide and tirzepatide, so moving from one to the other would not change your drug. TrimRx leads our six-part score, 7.2 to 6.4.
PlushCare vs TrimRx price
PlushCare is the cheaper way in: $149 a month against $179 a month at TrimRx. That is $30 less each month (17% lower), or about $360 over a year of treatment.
Drug by drug: Semaglutide is cheaper at PlushCare ($149 a month vs $179 a month); tirzepatide is cheaper at TrimRx ($259 a month vs $399 a month).
Medications and formats
Both sell semaglutide and tirzepatide.
On format, PlushCare prices compounded injections, while TrimRx prices compounded injections and brand-name pens.
If you want the FDA-approved brand rather than a compounded version, TrimRx is the only one of the two with a brand-name price.
Where each one treats patients
PlushCare lists 50 states, and TrimRx does not publish where it ships.
Pricing
PlushCare
Range up to $299/mo
Range up to $599/mo
TrimRx
GLP-1 starts at $179. The homepage shows a $299.00 list price struck through to $179.00 for the first month, and an email sign-up offer promises '$120 OFF' your first order, for a first month as low as $135. Multi-month bundles (formerly $209/$191/$174) are no longer published; plan prices appear only after the intake questionnaire.
The GLP-1 + GIP plan, which contains tirzepatide, starts at $259, down from an earlier $279 limited offer. Multi-month bundles (formerly $316/$299/$283) are no longer published; plan prices appear only after the intake questionnaire.
'Mounjaro® Starting at $1249' homepage tile; same branded-fulfillment caveat.
'Zepbound® Starting at $1249' homepage tile; same branded-fulfillment caveat.
'Wegovy® Starting at $1579' homepage tile; same branded-fulfillment caveat.
What each price covers
TrimRx's price also covers the clinician visit, the medication itself and shipping, which PlushCare does not claim.
PlushCare is silent on shipping and coaching.
TrimRx is silent on lab work and coaching.
That matters most for the drug: unless PlushCare confirms otherwise, budget for medication on top of its listed price.
PlushCare
Covered by the monthly price
Medication
Charged on top
Clinician visits
Charged on top
Shipping
Not stated
Lab work
Charged on top
Coaching
Not stated
TrimRx
Covered by the monthly price
Medication
In the price
Clinician visits
In the price
Shipping
In the price
Lab work
Not stated
Coaching
Not stated
Where each one scores higher
Overall, TrimRx scores 7.2 and PlushCare 6.4 out of 10.
PlushCare is stronger on trust & safety (7.5 vs 6.5) and accessibility (10.0 vs 5.0).
TrimRx is stronger on value (5.2 vs 3.0), user experience (8.0 vs 7.0) and support (7.0 vs 0.0).
Effectiveness is within half a point.
PlushCare
6.4/10
TrimRx
7.2/10
Value25%
Effectiveness25%
User Experience15%
Trust & Safety15%
Accessibility10%
Support10%
FDA warning letters
Neither PlushCare nor TrimRx has an FDA warning letter on record with us.
Features & Coverage
| Feature | PlushCare | TrimRx |
|---|---|---|
| Starting Price | ✓$149/mo | $179/mo |
| Features | 8 features | 8 features |
| States Available | 50 | Not disclosed |
| Compounded | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| Brand Name | — | ✓ Yes |
| FSA/HSA Accepted | — | — |
| FDA Warning Letters | None | None |
About PlushCare
PlushCare is an established virtual primary-care telehealth platform and a subsidiary of Transcarent, Inc., a Delaware corporation that also owns Accolade, 2nd.MD, and 98point6 by Transcarent. Virtual visits with US board-certified physicians cost $30 per appointment insured and $129 self-pay. GLP-1 prescribing is a clinician-discretionary option within the broader primary-care relationship.
Read our full PlushCare review →About TrimRx
Three things TrimRx does not publish: the pharmacy that compounds its drugs, the states it serves, and any LegitScript certification. Specifics sit behind an intake quiz. What is visible is a cash-pay program with tiered monthly pricing plus multi-month bundles, no insurance, selling compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide shipped monthly at no shipping cost. Licensed US providers prescribe after reviewing an online medical history. The pitch is dose continuity and stable pricing: "switch and keep your current dose, no price hikes". Compounded GLP-1s are not FDA-approved.
Read our full TrimRx review →Pros & Cons
PlushCare
What we like
- Shows its price before the medical questionnaire, so you can compare it without handing over health information
- Serves all 50 states
- We found no FDA warning letters issued to PlushCare
- A live video visit with a clinician is required before a prescription, which is slower than a form and is the more careful intake
- Baseline bloodwork is required before a prescription
Watch-outs
- Not included in the monthly price: medication, clinician visits, lab work
- Ask which pharmacy fills the prescription before you pay, so you can check its license
- Its semaglutide and tirzepatide are compounded rather than FDA-approved, so they have not been reviewed by the agency for safety, effectiveness or manufacturing quality
TrimRx
What we like
- Semaglutide costs $179 a month, close to the $184 median for compounded semaglutide across the sellers we compare
- Tirzepatide costs $259 a month, close to the $250 median for compounded tirzepatide across the sellers we compare
- Shows its price before the medical questionnaire, so you can compare it without handing over health information
- The monthly price stays the same as your dose goes up
- The monthly price includes the medication, clinician visits and shipping
- We found no FDA warning letters issued to TrimRx
Watch-outs
- Confirm it serves your state before you start the intake
- Ask which pharmacy fills the prescription before you pay, so you can check its license
- Its semaglutide and tirzepatide are compounded rather than FDA-approved, so they have not been reviewed by the agency for safety, effectiveness or manufacturing quality
Our Verdict
TrimRx wins this one, 7.2 to 6.4, above all for compounded semaglutide at $179/month. PlushCare undercuts it by $30 a month, so if the monthly bill is what decides it, PlushCare is the pick. PlushCare fits better if coverage in all 50 states, which most sellers will not confirm is your priority.
Choose PlushCare if…
You want coverage in all 50 states, which most sellers will not confirm and an opening price near $149 a month.
Choose TrimRx if…
You want compounded semaglutide at $179/month and an opening price near $179 a month.
Ready to start? GLP-1 providers we have vetted
Telehealth providers, vetted by us, prescribing GLP-1 online.
Vetted by our editors · no insurance required
Some of the links on this page earn us money. If you sign up with a provider after following one, that provider may pay GLP Watchdog a commission. Learn more
HealthRX
Compounded semaglutide at $133/month
From $133/mo
Get started →RNK Health
An oral route if you will not self-inject
From $197/mo
Get started →He & She MD
Starting below a standard dose, with microdose tiers
From $99/mo
Get started →PlushCare vs TrimRx: FAQ
Close alternatives to PlushCare and TrimRx
- PlushCare vs altRX
- PlushCare vs Trinity Meds
- PlushCare vs Gala
- PlushCare vs Lttl
- TrimRx vs GOAL.MD
- TrimRx vs Vaylen
Or see the full category ranking.
Novo Nordisk A/S owns the Wegovy®, Ozempic® and Rybelsus® marks; Eli Lilly and Company owns Mounjaro® and Zepbound®. Every other product name and mark on this page belongs to whoever owns it. No pharmaceutical manufacturer is affiliated with GLP Watchdog. See trademark disclaimer.