Price and states served both move. Read them off the seller's own site before you enroll.How our reviews work →

Lean Rx vs RedBox Rx

Lean Rx costs $3 less a month, and both sell semaglutide and tirzepatide.

Some of the links on this page earn us money. If you sign up with a provider after following one, that provider may pay GLP Watchdog a commission. Learn more

By Ruth Calder · Enforcement Editor
Editorially reviewed (not clinically reviewed). Not medical advice · How we verify contentLast reviewed
Lean Rx logo

Lean Rx

6.4
★★★☆☆3.2/5

Best for: seeing what it charges before you answer any medical questions

Visit Lean Rx →
VS

RedBox Rx

5.3
★★★☆☆2.7/5

Best for: an oral route if you will not self-inject

Visit RedBox Rx →

If you are choosing between Lean Rx and RedBox Rx, the first difference is cost: Lean Rx is $3 a month cheaper at the entry price. Both prescribe semaglutide and tirzepatide, so moving from one to the other would not change your drug. Lean Rx leads our six-part score, 6.4 to 5.3.

Lean Rx vs RedBox Rx price

Lean Rx is the cheaper way in: $266 a month against $269 a month at RedBox Rx. That is $3 less each month (1% lower), or about $36 over a year of treatment.

Drug by drug: Semaglutide is cheaper at Lean Rx ($266 a month vs $269 a month); tirzepatide is cheaper at RedBox Rx ($397 a month vs $399 a month).

Medications and formats

Both sell semaglutide and tirzepatide.

On format they match: each offers compounded injections.

Where each one treats patients

Neither Lean Rx nor RedBox Rx publishes the states it serves, so enter your state at the very start of each sign-up.

Pricing

Lean Rx

StartingCompounded
$266/mo
semaglutide
StartingCompounded
$399/mo
tirzepatide

RedBox Rx

All doses (injection)Compounded
$269$189/mo
Save 30% right now
semaglutide

269/mo month-to-month, or 189/mo on a 6-month plan

All doses (oral tablet)Compounded
$279/mo
semaglutide

daily oral dissolvable tablet

All doses (injection)Compounded
$429/mo
tirzepatide

weekly injection, flat pricing

All doses (oral tablet)Compounded
$397/mo
tirzepatide

daily oral tablet

What each price covers

Both prices cover the medication itself.

RedBox Rx's price also covers the clinician visit and shipping, which Lean Rx does not claim.

Lean Rx is silent on the clinician visit, shipping, lab work and coaching.

RedBox Rx is silent on lab work and coaching.

Lean Rx

Covered by the monthly price

Medication

In the price

Clinician visits

Not stated

Shipping

Not stated

Lab work

Not stated

Coaching

Not stated

RedBox Rx

Covered by the monthly price

Medication

In the price

Clinician visits

In the price

Shipping

In the price

Lab work

Not stated

Coaching

Not stated

Where each one scores higher

Overall, Lean Rx scores 6.4 and RedBox Rx 5.3 out of 10.

Lean Rx is stronger on value (3.0 vs 2.3), user experience (7.5 vs 2.5) and trust & safety (6.5 vs 4.0).

RedBox Rx is stronger on support (7.0 vs 5.0).

Effectiveness and accessibility are within half a point.

How we score

Lean Rx

6.4/10

Overall

RedBox Rx

5.3/10

Value25%

3.0A
vs
B
2.3

Effectiveness25%

10.0A
vs
B
10.0

User Experience15%

7.5A
vs
B
2.5

Trust & Safety15%

6.5A
vs
B
4.0

Accessibility10%

5.0A
vs
B
5.0

Support10%

5.0A
vs
B
7.0

FDA warning letters

Neither Lean Rx nor RedBox Rx has an FDA warning letter on record with us.

Features & Coverage

FeatureLean RxRedBox Rx
Starting Price✓$266/mo$269/mo
Features✓8 features6 features
States AvailableNot disclosedNot disclosed
Compounded✓ Yes✓ Yes
Brand Name——
FSA/HSA Accepted——
FDA Warning LettersNoneNone

About Lean Rx

Injectable, sublingual and tablet forms are all offered, at $266 per month upward for the compounded GLP-1 semaglutide and $399 per month upward for compounded tirzepatide. An online medical history comes first. Next an independent licensed provider takes a telehealth call and writes where appropriate, and the parcel goes home. Lean Rx works out of Sacramento, advertises pricing with nothing hidden, and states that it is a technology company rather than a healthcare provider. No list of states exists.

Read our full Lean Rx review →

About RedBox Rx

Dose increases do not change the bill, and insurance never enters it. For semaglutide, an injection costs 269 dollars monthly, dropping to 189 dollars if you commit to 6 months, while the oral tablets are 279 dollars. Tirzepatide runs 429 dollars monthly by injection and 397 dollars orally. A dietitian session of 30 minutes, a metabolic panel, follow-ups with a provider by video or message without limit, injection supplies and the drug all sit inside those figures. Hy-Vee is the parent of this telehealth pharmacy.

Read our full RedBox Rx review →

Pros & Cons

Lean Rx

What we like

  • Shows its price before the medical questionnaire, so you can compare it without handing over health information
  • The monthly price includes the medication
  • We found no FDA warning letters issued to Lean Rx
  • A live video visit with a clinician is required before a prescription, which is slower than a form and is the more careful intake

Watch-outs

  • Confirm it serves your state before you start the intake
  • Ask which pharmacy fills the prescription before you pay, so you can check its license
  • Its semaglutide and tirzepatide are compounded rather than FDA-approved, so they have not been reviewed by the agency for safety, effectiveness or manufacturing quality

RedBox Rx

What we like

  • The monthly price stays the same as your dose goes up
  • The monthly price includes the medication, clinician visits and shipping
  • We found no FDA warning letters issued to RedBox Rx
  • A live video visit with a clinician is required before a prescription, which is slower than a form and is the more careful intake

Watch-outs

  • Semaglutide costs $269 a month, 45% above the $185 median for compounded semaglutide across the sellers we compare
  • Tirzepatide costs $397 a month, 59% above the $250 median for compounded tirzepatide across the sellers we compare
  • You only see a price after finishing the medical intake, so you cannot compare costs before sharing health information
  • Confirm it serves your state before you start the intake
  • Ask which pharmacy fills the prescription before you pay, so you can check its license
  • Its semaglutide and tirzepatide are compounded rather than FDA-approved, so they have not been reviewed by the agency for safety, effectiveness or manufacturing quality

Our Verdict

Winner: Lean Rx

Lean Rx wins this one, 6.4 to 5.3, above all for seeing what it charges before you answer any medical questions. It also costs $3 less each month than RedBox Rx. RedBox Rx fits better if an oral route if you will not self-inject is your priority.

Choose Lean Rx if…

You want seeing what it charges before you answer any medical questions and an opening price near $266 a month.

Choose RedBox Rx if…

You want an oral route if you will not self-inject and an opening price near $269 a month.

Ready to start? GLP-1 providers we have vetted

Telehealth providers, vetted by us, prescribing GLP-1 online.

Vetted by our editors · no insurance required

Some of the links on this page earn us money. If you sign up with a provider after following one, that provider may pay GLP Watchdog a commission. Learn more

9.0

bmiMD

Starting below a standard dose, with microdose tiers

6.7

RxSpan MD

Knowing which pharmacy fills the vial: it names Belmar Pharmacy

6.6

Luvo Health

Moving between compounded and brand without changing seller

Lean Rx vs RedBox Rx: FAQ

Lean Rx. It starts at $266 a month; RedBox Rx starts at $269 a month, $3 more per month.
Yes, both sell semaglutide and tirzepatide.
Lean Rx does not publish where it ships; RedBox Rx does not publish where it ships. Confirm your state before paying.
Both include the medication itself. Only RedBox Rx includes the clinician visit and shipping.
Lean Rx has none. RedBox Rx has none.
No. Neither Lean Rx nor RedBox Rx pays us anything.

Or see the full category ranking.