AskRx vs Hims
AskRx and Hims both sell semaglutide and tirzepatide; this is how their prices, coverage and records differ.
Some of the links on this page earn us money. If you sign up with a provider after following one, that provider may pay GLP Watchdog a commission. Learn more
AskRx
Best for: coverage in all 50 states, which most sellers will not confirm
Visit AskRx →Hims
Best for: knowing which pharmacy fills the vial: it names Apostrophe Pharmacy LLC
Visit Hims →If you are choosing between AskRx and Hims, price alone will not settle it. Both prescribe semaglutide and tirzepatide, so moving from one to the other would not change your drug. AskRx leads our six-part score, 8.8 to 6.8. One of the two has an FDA warning letter on record, covered below.
AskRx vs Hims price
AskRx and Hims start at the same figure, $199 a month, so the entry price does not separate them. Look at what each price covers and at the per-drug prices below.
Drug by drug: Semaglutide costs the same at both, $199 a month; tirzepatide costs the same at both, $299 a month.
Medications and formats
Both sell semaglutide and tirzepatide.
On format, AskRx prices brand-name pens, while Hims prices compounded injections and brand-name pens.
Where each one treats patients
AskRx lists 50 states, and Hims lists 50 states.
They overlap in 50 states.
Pricing
AskRx
Hims
Brand Zepbound from $299/mo medication-only; requires Hims Weight Loss Membership ($149/mo)
What each price covers
Hims' price also covers the medication itself, which AskRx does not claim.
AskRx does not say what its price includes.
Hims is silent on shipping and lab work.
That matters most for the drug: unless AskRx confirms otherwise, budget for medication on top of its listed price.
AskRx
Inclusions not disclosed.
Hims
Covered by the monthly price
Medication
In the price
Clinician visits
Charged on top
Shipping
Not stated
Lab work
Not stated
Coaching
Charged on top
Where each one scores higher
Overall, AskRx scores 8.8 and Hims 6.8 out of 10.
AskRx is stronger on value (10.0 vs 3.0), trust & safety (7.5 vs 7.0) and support (5.0 vs 3.0).
Effectiveness, user experience and accessibility are within half a point.
AskRx
8.8/10
Hims
6.8/10
Value25%
Effectiveness25%
User Experience15%
Trust & Safety15%
Accessibility10%
Support10%
FDA warning letters
The FDA sent Hims a warning letter dated September 9, 2025 (letter 716567), and it is still open.
AskRx has no FDA warning letter on record with us.
Features & Coverage
| Feature | AskRx | Hims |
|---|---|---|
| Starting Price | $199/mo | $199/mo |
| Features | ✓8 features | 2 features |
| States Available | 50 | 50 |
| Compounded | — | ✓ Yes |
| Brand Name | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| FSA/HSA Accepted | ✓ Yes | — |
| FDA Warning Letters | ✓None | 1 letter |
About AskRx
The subscription buys a physician, not a drug: $99-149/mo, with medication invoiced separately. AskRx never dispenses, compounds or sells anything; it routes the script to a manufacturer pharmacy, NovoCare or LillyDirect, whichever the patient picks. Its board-certified physicians write nothing compounded, only FDA-approved brand-name GLP-1s: Zepbound (tirzepatide), plus the Wegovy pen and pill (semaglutide). LegitScript approval and HIPAA compliance are claimed across all 50 states, and the subscription may qualify for HSA/FSA.
Read our full AskRx review →About Hims
Hims is a major men's telehealth brand. Its weight loss offering is compounded semaglutide on a 6-month plan.
Read our full Hims review →Pros & Cons
AskRx
What we like
- Semaglutide costs $199 a month, 80% below the $997 median for brand-name semaglutide across the sellers we compare
- Tirzepatide costs $299 a month, 76% below the $1249 median for brand-name tirzepatide across the sellers we compare
- Shows its price before the medical questionnaire, so you can compare it without handing over health information
- Serves all 50 states
- We found no FDA warning letters issued to AskRx
Watch-outs
- Ask which pharmacy fills the prescription before you pay, so you can check its license
Hims
What we like
- Shows its price before the medical questionnaire, so you can compare it without handing over health information
- The monthly price includes the medication
- Serves all 50 states
- Names 4 pharmacies that fill its prescriptions, which most sellers do not
Watch-outs
- Not included in the monthly price: clinician visits, coaching
- The FDA has issued Hims a warning letter. Read what it alleges: a letter flags a problem but does not by itself rule a seller out
- Its semaglutide is compounded rather than FDA-approved, so it has not been reviewed by the agency for safety, effectiveness or manufacturing quality
Our Verdict
AskRx wins this one, 8.8 to 6.8, above all for coverage in all 50 states, which most sellers will not confirm. Hims fits better if knowing which pharmacy fills the vial: it names Apostrophe Pharmacy LLC is your priority.
Choose AskRx if…
You want coverage in all 50 states, which most sellers will not confirm and an opening price near $199 a month.
Choose Hims if…
You want knowing which pharmacy fills the vial: it names Apostrophe Pharmacy LLC and an opening price near $199 a month.
Ready to start? GLP-1 providers we have vetted
Telehealth providers, vetted by us, prescribing GLP-1 online.
Vetted by our editors · no insurance required
Some of the links on this page earn us money. If you sign up with a provider after following one, that provider may pay GLP Watchdog a commission. Learn more
SnagRx
Semaglutide at $99/month, 48% below the typical price
From $99/mo
Get started →Embody
Knowing which pharmacy fills the vial: it names RedRock Pharmacy
From $79/mo
Get started →YourEra
Semaglutide at $99/month, 63% below the typical price
From $99/mo
Get started →AskRx vs Hims: FAQ
Close alternatives to AskRx and Hims
- AskRx vs Hers
- AskRx vs Care Bare Rx
- AskRx vs Concierge MD LA
- Hims vs Hers
- Hims vs Care Bare Rx
- Hims vs Concierge MD LA
Or see the full category ranking.
Novo Nordisk A/S owns the Wegovy®, Ozempic® and Rybelsus® marks; Eli Lilly and Company owns Mounjaro® and Zepbound®. Every other product name and mark on this page belongs to whoever owns it. No pharmaceutical manufacturer is affiliated with GLP Watchdog. See trademark disclaimer.