Price and states served both move. Read them off the seller's own site before you enroll.How our reviews work →

TrimRx vs Vital Step

Vital Step costs $3 less a month, and both sell semaglutide and tirzepatide.

Some of the links on this page earn us money. If you sign up with a provider after following one, that provider may pay GLP Watchdog a commission. Learn more

By Ruth Calder · Enforcement Editor
Editorially reviewed (not clinically reviewed). Not medical advice · How we verify contentLast reviewed
TrimRx logo

TrimRx

6.3
★★★☆☆3.2/5

Best for: compounded semaglutide at $299/month after a $199 first month

Visit TrimRx →
VS

Vital Step

5.6
★★★☆☆2.8/5

Best for: people who want compounded semaglutide or tirzepatide in tablet form and accept a no-refund policy

Visit Vital Step →

If you are choosing between TrimRx and Vital Step, the first difference is cost: Vital Step is $3 a month cheaper at the entry price. Both prescribe semaglutide and tirzepatide, so moving from one to the other would not change your drug. TrimRx leads our six-part score, 6.3 to 5.6.

TrimRx vs Vital Step price

Vital Step is the cheaper way in: $296 a month against $299 a month at TrimRx. That is $3 less each month (1% lower), or about $36 over a year of treatment.

Drug by drug: Semaglutide is cheaper at Vital Step ($296 a month vs $299 a month); tirzepatide is cheaper at Vital Step ($396 a month vs $399 a month).

Medications and formats

Both sell semaglutide and tirzepatide.

On format, TrimRx prices compounded injections and brand-name pens, while Vital Step prices compounded injections.

If you want the FDA-approved brand rather than a compounded version, TrimRx is the only one of the two with a brand-name price.

Where each one treats patients

TrimRx does not publish where it ships, and Vital Step lists 50 states.

Pricing

TrimRx

GLP-1 (semaglutide) monthly planCompounded
$299$199/mo
Save 33% right now
semaglutide

TrimRx's terms price the first month at $199 and each follow-up month at $299, with medication, consultation and shipping included. The home page advertises 'Starting at $179', which the terms do not tie to a month-to-month plan.

GLP-1 + GIP (tirzepatide) monthly planCompounded
$399$349/mo
Save 13% right now
tirzepatide

TrimRx's terms price the first month at $349 and each follow-up month at $399, with medication, consultation and shipping included. The home page advertises 'Starting at $259', which the terms do not tie to a month-to-month plan.

Ozempic monthly planBrand-name
$1299/mo
semaglutide (ozempic)

Priced at $1,299 for the first month and $1,299 for follow-up months, medication included.

Zepbound monthly planBrand-name
$1399/mo
tirzepatide (zepbound)

Priced at $1,399 for the first month and $1,399 for follow-up months, medication included.

Vital Step

Weekly injection, month-to-month planCompounded
$296$179/mo
Save 40% right now
semaglutide

$179 for the first month, then $296 a month, on the plan labelled no commitment. Longer plans are listed as 3, 6 and 12-month supplies with lower monthly rates; the advertised "as low as $161" is the first month of the 6-month plan.

Oral tablet (daily), month-to-month planCompounded
$296$179/mo
Save 40% right now
semaglutide

Compounded semaglutide tablets on the same price ladder as the injection: $179 for the first month, then $296 a month.

Weekly injection, month-to-month planCompounded
$396$279/mo
Save 30% right now
tirzepatide

$279 for the first month, then $396 a month. The advertised "as low as $198" is the first month of the 6-month plan, which then continues at a higher monthly rate.

Oral tablet (daily), month-to-month planCompounded
$396$279/mo
Save 30% right now
tirzepatide

Compounded tirzepatide tablets on the same price ladder as the injection: $279 for the first month, then $396 a month.

What each price covers

Both prices cover shipping.

TrimRx's price also covers the clinician visit and the medication itself, which Vital Step does not claim.

TrimRx is silent on lab work and coaching.

Vital Step is silent on the clinician visit, the medication itself, lab work and coaching.

That matters most for the drug: unless Vital Step confirms otherwise, budget for medication on top of its listed price.

TrimRx

Covered by the monthly price

Medication

In the price

Clinician visits

In the price

Shipping

In the price

Lab work

Not stated

Coaching

Not stated

Vital Step

Covered by the monthly price

Medication

Not stated

Clinician visits

Not stated

Shipping

In the price

Lab work

Not stated

Coaching

Not stated

Where each one scores higher

Overall, TrimRx scores 6.3 and Vital Step 5.6 out of 10.

TrimRx is stronger on user experience (8.0 vs 3.0), trust & safety (6.5 vs 5.0) and support (7.0 vs 5.0).

Vital Step is stronger on accessibility (10.0 vs 5.0).

Value and effectiveness are within half a point.

How we score

TrimRx

6.3/10

Overall

Vital Step

5.6/10

Value25%

1.7A
vs
B
1.7

Effectiveness25%

10.0A
vs
B
10.0

User Experience15%

8.0A
vs
B
3.0

Trust & Safety15%

6.5A
vs
B
5.0

Accessibility10%

5.0A
vs
B
10.0

Support10%

7.0A
vs
B
5.0

FDA warning letters

Neither TrimRx nor Vital Step has an FDA warning letter on record with us.

Features & Coverage

FeatureTrimRxVital Step
Starting Price$299/mo✓$296/mo
Features8 features8 features
States AvailableNot disclosed50
Compounded✓ Yes✓ Yes
Brand Name✓ Yes—
FSA/HSA Accepted——
FDA Warning LettersNoneNone

About TrimRx

Three things TrimRx does not publish: the pharmacy that compounds its drugs, the states it serves, and any LegitScript certification. Specifics sit behind an intake quiz. What is visible is a cash-pay program with tiered monthly pricing plus multi-month bundles, no insurance, selling compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide shipped monthly at no shipping cost. Licensed US providers prescribe after reviewing an online medical history. The pitch is dose continuity and stable pricing: "switch and keep your current dose, no price hikes". Compounded GLP-1s are not FDA-approved.

Read our full TrimRx review →

About Vital Step

Vital Step is a Las Vegas telehealth company selling compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide as weekly injections or daily tablets, with care through the Dr. TelX medical group. Month to month, semaglutide runs $296 and tirzepatide $396 after a discounted first month of $179 or $279. The "as low as" prices in its ads are first-month rates on six-month plans, and its policy says charges are not refundable.

Read our full Vital Step review →

Pros & Cons

TrimRx

What we like

  • Shows its price before the medical questionnaire, so you can compare it without handing over health information
  • The monthly price stays the same as your dose goes up
  • The monthly price includes the medication, clinician visits and shipping
  • We found no FDA warning letters issued to TrimRx

Watch-outs

  • Semaglutide costs $299 a month, 59% above the $188 median for compounded semaglutide across the sellers we compare
  • Tirzepatide costs $399 a month, 60% above the $250 median for compounded tirzepatide across the sellers we compare
  • Confirm it serves your state before you start the intake
  • Ask which pharmacy fills the prescription before you pay, so you can check its license
  • Its semaglutide and tirzepatide are compounded rather than FDA-approved, so they have not been reviewed by the agency for safety, effectiveness or manufacturing quality

Vital Step

What we like

  • The monthly price includes shipping
  • Serves all 50 states
  • We found no FDA warning letters issued to Vital Step

Watch-outs

  • Semaglutide costs $296 a month, 57% above the $188 median for compounded semaglutide across the sellers we compare
  • Tirzepatide costs $396 a month, 58% above the $250 median for compounded tirzepatide across the sellers we compare
  • You only see a price after finishing the medical intake, so you cannot compare costs before sharing health information
  • Ask which pharmacy fills the prescription before you pay, so you can check its license
  • Its semaglutide and tirzepatide are compounded rather than FDA-approved, so they have not been reviewed by the agency for safety, effectiveness or manufacturing quality

Our Verdict

Winner: TrimRx

TrimRx wins this one, 6.3 to 5.6, above all for compounded semaglutide at $299/month after a $199 first month. Vital Step undercuts it by $3 a month, so if the monthly bill is what decides it, Vital Step is the pick. Vital Step fits better if people who want compounded semaglutide or tirzepatide in tablet form and accept a no-refund policy is your priority.

Choose TrimRx if…

You want compounded semaglutide at $299/month after a $199 first month and an opening price near $299 a month.

Choose Vital Step if…

You want people who want compounded semaglutide or tirzepatide in tablet form and accept a no-refund policy and an opening price near $296 a month.

Ready to start? GLP-1 providers we have vetted

Telehealth providers, vetted by us, prescribing GLP-1 online.

Vetted by our editors · no insurance required

Some of the links on this page earn us money. If you sign up with a provider after following one, that provider may pay GLP Watchdog a commission. Learn more

6.6

Luvo Health

Moving between compounded and brand without changing seller

8.5

Strut Health

Semaglutide at $99/month, 48% below the typical price

8.4

Enhance MD

Knowing which pharmacy fills the vial: it names Tru Meds Rx

TrimRx vs Vital Step: FAQ

Vital Step. It starts at $296 a month; TrimRx starts at $299 a month, $3 more per month.
Yes, both sell semaglutide and tirzepatide.
TrimRx does not publish where it ships; Vital Step lists 50 states. Confirm your state before paying.
Both include shipping. Only TrimRx includes the clinician visit and the medication itself.
TrimRx has none. Vital Step has none.
No. Neither TrimRx nor Vital Step pays us anything.

Or see the full category ranking.

Novo Nordisk A/S owns the Wegovy®, Ozempic® and Rybelsus® marks; Eli Lilly and Company owns Mounjaro® and Zepbound®. Every other product name and mark on this page belongs to whoever owns it. No pharmaceutical manufacturer is affiliated with GLP Watchdog. See trademark disclaimer.