Sesame Care vs ShedRx
Sesame Care costs $90 less a month, and both sell semaglutide, tirzepatide and orforglipron.
Some of the links on this page earn us money. If you sign up with a provider after following one, that provider may pay GLP Watchdog a commission. Learn more
If you are choosing between Sesame Care and ShedRx, the first difference is cost: Sesame Care is $90 a month cheaper at the entry price. Both prescribe semaglutide, tirzepatide and orforglipron, so moving from one to the other would not change your drug. Sesame Care leads our six-part score, 6.5 to 6.4.
Sesame Care vs ShedRx price
Sesame Care is the cheaper way in: $59 a month on a prepaid plan against $149 a month at ShedRx. That is $90 less each month (60% lower), or about $1,080 over a year of treatment.
Sesame Care's figure is a monthly average of a plan billed for several months at once, so the first charge is larger than the number shown.
Drug by drug: Semaglutide costs the same at both, $149 a month; tirzepatide costs the same at both, $299 a month; orforglipron costs the same at both, $149 a month.
Medications and formats
Both sell semaglutide, tirzepatide and orforglipron.
On format, Sesame Care prices compounded injections, brand-name pens and an oral option, while ShedRx prices compounded injections and an oral option.
If you want the FDA-approved brand rather than a compounded version, Sesame Care is the only one of the two with a brand-name price.
Where each one treats patients
Neither Sesame Care nor ShedRx publishes the states it serves, so enter your state at the very start of each sign-up.
Pricing
Sesame Care
Month-to-Month $99/mo, 3-Month $39/mo, 6-Month $49/mo, Annual $59/mo; includes video visits, unlimited messaging, follow-ups, labs (savings $60/3mo, $180/6mo, $480/yr)
$199/mo for the first two months; new self-pay patients, lowest doses (0.25/0.5mg) only. Sesame's FAQ set the offer to end June 30, 2026.
low doses
high doses; maintenance dose $50/mo cheaper than Wegovy injection
NEW published pricing: $199 first two months (same new-self-pay intro terms as Wegovy); 2mg is $499/mo
$399/mo for 5mg; $449/mo for 7.5mg, 10mg, 12.5mg and 15mg.
$399/mo 5mg, $499/mo 7.5mg, $699/mo 10-15mg (program page shows $398/$698 — Sesame's own pages disagree by $1)
NEW row on program page: 'Zepbound® Tirzepatide Starts at $1,086 per / mo' (retail-channel pen, distinct from LillyDirect KwikPen)
NEW published pricing: $199/mo (2.5mg), $299/mo (5.5mg, 9mg), $349/mo (14.5mg, 17.2mg); previously feature-only with no pricing row
'Price with insurance: as low as $25 per / mo.' — copay varies by plan/PA outcome
ShedRx
$199 on a 1-month plan, $179 on 6 months, $159 on 12 months. The lower figure is the 12-month commitment rate, not a temporary promo.
Starting at $229/month with medication, supplies, member support and free shipping included. Up from $199 earlier.
Starting at $199/month, month-to-month; free shipping stated (replaces our obsolete 'Oral $349' row)
$299 on a 1-month plan, $269 on 6 months, $239 on 12 months (the 12-month commitment rate).
NEW product. $149/mo medication (cash pay, paid to dispensing pharmacy) + $125/mo Shed membership and provider fee
Page shows BOTH: FAQ 'starts at $149 (pill) and $199 (pen)... new patients using cash pay' + '$99 Shed membership', while hero states '$349-499 for the medication' + '$125/month Shed Membership'. Medication purchased directly via NovoCare; membership fee inconsistency ($99 vs $125) on same page
FAQ: 'starts at $349 per month for new patients using cash pay' + $99 membership per FAQ ($125/mo per hero); medication purchased directly via LillyDirect
Starting at $169/month; 'Includes 2 Health Coaching sessions per month'
What each price covers
ShedRx's price also covers the clinician visit, the medication itself and coaching, which Sesame Care does not claim.
Sesame Care does not say what its price includes.
ShedRx is silent on shipping and lab work.
That matters most for the drug: unless Sesame Care confirms otherwise, budget for medication on top of its listed price.
Sesame Care
Inclusions not disclosed.
ShedRx
Covered by the monthly price
Medication
In the price
Clinician visits
In the price
Shipping
Not stated
Lab work
Not stated
Coaching
In the price
Where each one scores higher
Overall, Sesame Care scores 6.5 and ShedRx 6.4 out of 10.
Sesame Care is stronger on user experience (7.5 vs 3.0) and trust & safety (6.5 vs 4.0).
ShedRx is stronger on value (6.5 vs 3.7) and support (7.0 vs 5.0).
Effectiveness and accessibility are within half a point.
Sesame Care
6.5/10
ShedRx
6.4/10
Value25%
Effectiveness25%
User Experience15%
Trust & Safety15%
Accessibility10%
Support10%
FDA warning letters
Neither Sesame Care nor ShedRx has an FDA warning letter on record with us.
Features & Coverage
| Feature | Sesame Care | ShedRx |
|---|---|---|
| Starting Price | ✓$59/mo prepaid | $149/mo |
| Features | ✓8 features | 4 features |
| States Available | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Compounded | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| Brand Name | ✓ Yes | — |
| FSA/HSA Accepted | — | — |
| FDA Warning Letters | None | None |
About Sesame Care
A subscription running $39-$99/month pays for the clinical care and nothing else; drugs are charged separately at cash rates, which includes Zepbound from $299 through LillyDirect and a Wegovy self-pay promotion at $199/month. Nothing in the weight-loss line is compounded, only branded. Rather than working off a stocked formulary the way most weight-loss platforms do, Sesame prices transparently and puts patients in touch with independent provider practices.
Read our full Sesame Care review →About ShedRx
ShedRx is a telehealth seller with three formats of compounded GLP-1 medication: drops, lozenges, and injections.
Read our full ShedRx review →Pros & Cons
Sesame Care
What we like
- Semaglutide costs $149 a month, 85% below the $990 median for brand-name semaglutide across the sellers we compare
- Shows its price before the medical questionnaire, so you can compare it without handing over health information
- We found no FDA warning letters issued to Sesame Care
- A live video visit with a clinician is required before a prescription, which is slower than a form and is the more careful intake
- Offers both oral and injectable options, so the format is your choice
Watch-outs
- Tirzepatide costs $299 a month, 20% above the $250 median for compounded tirzepatide across the sellers we compare
- Confirm it serves your state before you start the intake
- Ask which pharmacy fills the prescription before you pay, so you can check its license
- Its orforglipron, semaglutide and tirzepatide are compounded rather than FDA-approved, so they have not been reviewed by the agency for safety, effectiveness or manufacturing quality
ShedRx
What we like
- Semaglutide costs $149 a month, 19% below the $184 median for compounded semaglutide across the sellers we compare
- The monthly price includes the medication, clinician visits and coaching
- We found no FDA warning letters issued to ShedRx
- Offers both oral and injectable options, so the format is your choice
Watch-outs
- Tirzepatide costs $299 a month, 20% above the $250 median for compounded tirzepatide across the sellers we compare
- You only see a price after finishing the medical intake, so you cannot compare costs before sharing health information
- Confirm it serves your state before you start the intake
- Ask which pharmacy fills the prescription before you pay, so you can check its license
- Its orforglipron, semaglutide and tirzepatide are compounded rather than FDA-approved, so they have not been reviewed by the agency for safety, effectiveness or manufacturing quality
Our Verdict
Sesame Care wins this one, 6.5 to 6.4, above all for oral orforglipron alongside the injectables. It also costs $90 less each month than ShedRx. ShedRx fits better if oral orforglipron alongside the injectables is your priority.
Choose Sesame Care if…
You want oral orforglipron alongside the injectables and an opening price near $59 a month.
Choose ShedRx if…
You want oral orforglipron alongside the injectables and an opening price near $149 a month.
Ready to start? GLP-1 providers we have vetted
Telehealth providers, vetted by us, prescribing GLP-1 online.
Vetted by our editors · no insurance required
Some of the links on this page earn us money. If you sign up with a provider after following one, that provider may pay GLP Watchdog a commission. Learn more
Breeze Meds
Knowing which pharmacy fills the vial: it names Belmar Pharmacy
From $199/mo
Get started →HealthRX
Compounded semaglutide at $133/month
From $133/mo
Get started →RNK Health
An oral route if you will not self-inject
From $197/mo
Get started →Sesame Care vs ShedRx: FAQ
Close alternatives to Sesame Care and ShedRx
- Sesame Care vs Found
- Sesame Care vs PreventiveMD
- Sesame Care vs Kin Meds
- ShedRx vs Found
- ShedRx vs Kin Meds
- ShedRx vs Maximus
Or see the full category ranking.
Novo Nordisk A/S owns the Wegovy®, Ozempic® and Rybelsus® marks; Eli Lilly and Company owns Mounjaro® and Zepbound®. Every other product name and mark on this page belongs to whoever owns it. No pharmaceutical manufacturer is affiliated with GLP Watchdog. See trademark disclaimer.
