Price and states served both move. Read them off the seller's own site before you enroll.How our reviews work →

Hims vs Modern Age

Hims and Modern Age sell different medications; this is what separates them.

Some of the links on this page earn us money. If you sign up with a provider after following one, that provider may pay GLP Watchdog a commission. Learn more

By Ruth Calder · Enforcement Editor
Editorially reviewed (not clinically reviewed). Not medical advice · How we verify contentLast reviewed
Hims logo

Hims

6.8
★★★☆☆3.4/5

Best for: knowing which pharmacy fills the vial: it names Apostrophe Pharmacy LLC

Visit Hims →
VS
Modern Age logo

Modern Age

5.6
★★★☆☆2.8/5

Best for: semaglutide from $900/month

Visit Modern Age →

If you are choosing between Hims and Modern Age, price alone will not settle it. Hims leads our six-part score, 6.8 to 5.6. One of the two has an FDA warning letter on record, covered below.

Hims vs Modern Age price

Hims publishes $199 a month. Modern Age does not post a GLP-1 price we can quote, so you would only learn its cost after an intake.

Medications and formats

Hims lists semaglutide and tirzepatide; Modern Age does not name its drug.

On format, Hims prices compounded injections and brand-name pens, while Modern Age posts no priced format.

If you want the FDA-approved brand rather than a compounded version, Hims is the only one of the two with a brand-name price.

Where each one treats patients

Hims lists 50 states, and Modern Age does not publish where it ships.

Pricing

Hims

StartingCompounded
$199/mo
semaglutide
StartingBrand-name
$299/mo
tirzepatide

Brand Zepbound from $299/mo medication-only; requires Hims Weight Loss Membership ($149/mo)

Modern Age

all doses (medication billed separately)Brand-name
$900/mo
semaglutide

What each price covers

Hims' price also covers the medication itself, which Modern Age does not claim.

Hims is silent on shipping and lab work.

Modern Age does not say what its price includes.

That matters most for the drug: unless Modern Age confirms otherwise, budget for medication on top of its listed price.

Hims

Covered by the monthly price

Medication

In the price

Clinician visits

Charged on top

Shipping

Not stated

Lab work

Not stated

Coaching

Charged on top

Modern Age

Inclusions not disclosed.

Where each one scores higher

Overall, Hims scores 6.8 and Modern Age 5.6 out of 10.

Hims is stronger on effectiveness (10.0 vs 9.0), user experience (8.0 vs 2.5), trust & safety (7.0 vs 4.0) and accessibility (10.0 vs 5.0).

Modern Age is stronger on value (5.7 vs 3.0) and support (5.0 vs 3.0).

How we score

Hims

6.8/10

Overall

Modern Age

5.6/10

Value25%

3.0A
vs
B
5.7

Effectiveness25%

10.0A
vs
B
9.0

User Experience15%

8.0A
vs
B
2.5

Trust & Safety15%

7.0A
vs
B
4.0

Accessibility10%

10.0A
vs
B
5.0

Support10%

3.0A
vs
B
5.0

FDA warning letters

The FDA sent Hims a warning letter dated September 9, 2025 (letter 716567), and it is still open.

Modern Age has no FDA warning letter on record with us.

Features & Coverage

FeatureHimsModern Age
Starting Price$199/moNot published
Features2 features✓8 features
States Available50Not disclosed
Compounded✓ Yes—
Brand Name✓ Yes✓ Yes
FSA/HSA Accepted——
FDA Warning Letters1 letter✓None

About Hims

Hims is a major men's telehealth brand. Its weight loss offering is compounded semaglutide on a 6-month plan.

Read our full Hims review →

About Modern Age

Modern Age charges $500 for an Aging Wellness Assessment, covering a blood draw, at-home tests and a one-hour board-certified clinician review, then $500 for a personalized 6-month Weight Loss Program. GLP-1 medication is not included: if uninsured, branded Ozempic or Wegovy is estimated at $900-1600/mo. The longevity-focused clinic uses FDA-approved branded semaglutide (Wegovy, Ozempic) inside a structured program, and is currently available to residents in 16 states. This is a premium, clinician-led program, not a low-cost compounded subscription.

Read our full Modern Age review →

Pros & Cons

Hims

What we like

  • Shows its price before the medical questionnaire, so you can compare it without handing over health information
  • The monthly price includes the medication
  • Serves all 50 states
  • Names 4 pharmacies that fill its prescriptions, which most sellers do not

Watch-outs

  • Not included in the monthly price: clinician visits, coaching
  • The FDA has issued Hims a warning letter. Read what it alleges: a letter flags a problem but does not by itself rule a seller out
  • Its semaglutide is compounded rather than FDA-approved, so it has not been reviewed by the agency for safety, effectiveness or manufacturing quality

Modern Age

What we like

  • Semaglutide costs $900 a month, close to the $997 median for brand-name semaglutide across the sellers we compare
  • We found no FDA warning letters issued to Modern Age
  • Baseline bloodwork is required before a prescription

Watch-outs

  • You only see a price after finishing the medical intake, so you cannot compare costs before sharing health information
  • Confirm it serves your state before you start the intake
  • Ask which pharmacy fills the prescription before you pay, so you can check its license

Our Verdict

Winner: Hims

Hims wins this one, 6.8 to 5.6, above all for knowing which pharmacy fills the vial: it names Apostrophe Pharmacy LLC. Modern Age fits better if semaglutide from $900/month is your priority.

Choose Hims if…

You want knowing which pharmacy fills the vial: it names Apostrophe Pharmacy LLC and an opening price near $199 a month.

Choose Modern Age if…

You want semaglutide from $900/month.

Ready to start? GLP-1 providers we have vetted

Telehealth providers, vetted by us, prescribing GLP-1 online.

Vetted by our editors · no insurance required

Some of the links on this page earn us money. If you sign up with a provider after following one, that provider may pay GLP Watchdog a commission. Learn more

6.7

RxSpan MD

Knowing which pharmacy fills the vial: it names Belmar Pharmacy

6.6

Luvo Health

Moving between compounded and brand without changing seller

8.4

Strut Health

Semaglutide at $99/month, 48% below the typical price

Hims vs Modern Age: FAQ

Only Hims publishes a price ($199 a month). Modern Age quotes after sign-up.
No. Hims lists semaglutide and tirzepatide; Modern Age lists no named drug.
Hims lists 50 states; Modern Age does not publish where it ships. Confirm your state before paying.
Only Hims includes the medication itself.
Hims has an open FDA warning letter from September 9, 2025. Modern Age has none.
No. Neither Hims nor Modern Age pays us anything.

Or see the full category ranking.

Novo Nordisk A/S owns the Wegovy®, Ozempic® and Rybelsus® marks; Eli Lilly and Company owns Mounjaro® and Zepbound®. Every other product name and mark on this page belongs to whoever owns it. No pharmaceutical manufacturer is affiliated with GLP Watchdog. See trademark disclaimer.