Price and states served both move. Read them off the seller's own site before you enroll.How our reviews work →

eMed vs Hims

eMed and Hims sell different medications; this is what separates them.

Some of the links on this page earn us money. If you sign up with a provider after following one, that provider may pay GLP Watchdog a commission. Learn more

By Ruth Calder · Enforcement Editor
Editorially reviewed (not clinically reviewed). Not medical advice · How we verify contentLast reviewed
eMed logo

eMed

4.4
★★☆☆☆2.2/5
Visit eMed →
VS
Hims logo

Hims

6.8
★★★☆☆3.4/5

Best for: knowing which pharmacy fills the vial: it names Apostrophe Pharmacy LLC

Visit Hims →

If you are choosing between eMed and Hims, price alone will not settle it. Hims leads our six-part score, 6.8 to 4.4. One of the two has an FDA warning letter on record, covered below.

eMed vs Hims price

Hims publishes $199 a month. eMed does not post a GLP-1 price we can quote, so you would only learn its cost after an intake.

Medications and formats

Hims lists semaglutide and tirzepatide; eMed does not name its drug.

On format, eMed posts no priced format, while Hims prices compounded injections and brand-name pens.

If you want the FDA-approved brand rather than a compounded version, Hims is the only one of the two with a brand-name price.

Where each one treats patients

eMed does not publish where it ships, and Hims lists 50 states.

Pricing

eMed

Pricing not publicly listed.

Hims

StartingCompounded
$199/mo
semaglutide
StartingBrand-name
$299/mo
tirzepatide

Brand Zepbound from $299/mo medication-only; requires Hims Weight Loss Membership ($149/mo)

What each price covers

Hims' price also covers the medication itself, which eMed does not claim.

eMed does not say what its price includes.

Hims is silent on shipping and lab work.

That matters most for the drug: unless eMed confirms otherwise, budget for medication on top of its listed price.

eMed

Inclusions not disclosed.

Hims

Covered by the monthly price

Medication

In the price

Clinician visits

Charged on top

Shipping

Not stated

Lab work

Not stated

Coaching

Charged on top

Where each one scores higher

Overall, Hims scores 6.8 and eMed 4.4 out of 10.

eMed is stronger on support (5.0 vs 3.0).

Hims is stronger on effectiveness (10.0 vs 5.0), user experience (8.0 vs 5.0), trust & safety (7.0 vs 4.0) and accessibility (10.0 vs 5.0).

Value is within half a point.

How we score

eMed

4.4/10

Overall

Hims

6.8/10

Value25%

3.0A
vs
B
3.0

Effectiveness25%

5.0A
vs
B
10.0

User Experience15%

5.0A
vs
B
8.0

Trust & Safety15%

4.0A
vs
B
7.0

Accessibility10%

5.0A
vs
B
10.0

Support10%

5.0A
vs
B
3.0

FDA warning letters

The FDA sent Hims a warning letter dated September 9, 2025 (letter 716567), and it is still open.

eMed has no FDA warning letter on record with us.

Features & Coverage

FeatureeMedHims
Starting PriceNot published$199/mo
Features✓8 features2 features
States AvailableNot disclosed50
Compounded—✓ Yes
Brand Name—✓ Yes
FSA/HSA Accepted——
FDA Warning Letters✓None1 letter

About eMed

Employers are eMed's real channel, and CVS Caremark, a pharmacy benefit manager, sits in the middle; how much of the drug cost gets subsidized is the employer's call. For most people that rules out any transparent cash price. The company made its name in at-home diagnostics and has since built a GLP-1 weight management program with clinician support behind it. Members fill in a medical profile and collect blood at home, a licensed clinician judges eligibility, and branded semaglutide or tirzepatide may follow, with help on side effects and adherence afterward.

Read our full eMed review →

About Hims

Hims is a major men's telehealth brand. Its weight loss offering is compounded semaglutide on a 6-month plan.

Read our full Hims review →

Pros & Cons

eMed

What we like

  • We found no FDA warning letters issued to eMed

Watch-outs

  • Confirm it serves your state before you start the intake
  • Ask which pharmacy fills the prescription before you pay, so you can check its license

Hims

What we like

  • Shows its price before the medical questionnaire, so you can compare it without handing over health information
  • The monthly price includes the medication
  • Serves all 50 states
  • Names 4 pharmacies that fill its prescriptions, which most sellers do not

Watch-outs

  • Not included in the monthly price: clinician visits, coaching
  • The FDA has issued Hims a warning letter. Read what it alleges: a letter flags a problem but does not by itself rule a seller out
  • Its semaglutide is compounded rather than FDA-approved, so it has not been reviewed by the agency for safety, effectiveness or manufacturing quality

Our Verdict

Winner: Hims

Hims wins this one, 6.8 to 4.4, above all for knowing which pharmacy fills the vial: it names Apostrophe Pharmacy LLC.

Choose eMed if…

You want broader feature coverage.

Choose Hims if…

You want knowing which pharmacy fills the vial: it names Apostrophe Pharmacy LLC and an opening price near $199 a month.

Ready to start? GLP-1 providers we have vetted

Telehealth providers, vetted by us, prescribing GLP-1 online.

Vetted by our editors · no insurance required

Some of the links on this page earn us money. If you sign up with a provider after following one, that provider may pay GLP Watchdog a commission. Learn more

7.8

Oak

Semaglutide at $119/month, 37% below the typical price

9.4

Trimi Health

Knowing which pharmacy fills the vial: it names VialsRx

6.4

ShedRx

Oral orforglipron alongside the injectables

eMed vs Hims: FAQ

Only Hims publishes a price ($199 a month). eMed quotes after sign-up.
No. eMed lists no named drug; Hims lists semaglutide and tirzepatide.
eMed does not publish where it ships; Hims lists 50 states. Confirm your state before paying.
Only Hims includes the medication itself.
eMed has none. Hims has an open FDA warning letter from September 9, 2025.
No. Neither eMed nor Hims pays us anything.

Or see the full category ranking.

Novo Nordisk A/S owns the Wegovy®, Ozempic® and Rybelsus® marks; Eli Lilly and Company owns Mounjaro® and Zepbound®. Every other product name and mark on this page belongs to whoever owns it. No pharmaceutical manufacturer is affiliated with GLP Watchdog. See trademark disclaimer.