Price and states served both move. Read them off the seller's own site before you enroll.How our reviews work →

EllieMD vs Tru2u

Tru2u costs $4 less a month, and both sell semaglutide and tirzepatide.

Some of the links on this page earn us money. If you sign up with a provider after following one, that provider may pay GLP Watchdog a commission. Learn more

By Ruth Calder · Enforcement Editor
Editorially reviewed (not clinically reviewed). Not medical advice · How we verify contentLast reviewed
EllieMD logo

EllieMD

5.8
★★★☆☆2.9/5
Visit EllieMD →
VS

Tru2u

6.8
★★★☆☆3.4/5

Best for: an oral route if you will not self-inject

Visit Tru2u →

If you are choosing between EllieMD and Tru2u, the first difference is cost: Tru2u is $4 a month cheaper at the entry price. Both prescribe semaglutide and tirzepatide, so moving from one to the other would not change your drug. Tru2u leads our six-part score, 6.8 to 5.8.

EllieMD vs Tru2u price

Tru2u is the cheaper way in: $225 a month against $229 a month at EllieMD. That is $4 less each month (2% lower), or about $48 over a year of treatment.

Drug by drug: Semaglutide is cheaper at Tru2u ($225 a month vs $229 a month); tirzepatide is cheaper at EllieMD ($239 a month vs $345 a month).

Medications and formats

Both sell semaglutide and tirzepatide.

On format they match: each offers compounded injections.

Where each one treats patients

Neither EllieMD nor Tru2u publishes the states it serves, so enter your state at the very start of each sign-up.

Pricing

EllieMD

GLP-1 single agonist microdose — 12-week blockCompounded
$229/mo
semaglutide
GLP-1/GIP dual agonist microdose — 12-week blockCompounded
$239/mo
tirzepatide

Tru2u

All doses (flat)Compounded
$225/mo
semaglutide

Injectable, monthly subscription

All doses (flat)Compounded
$345/mo
tirzepatide

Injectable, monthly subscription

Oral tabletsCompounded
$225/mo
semaglutide

Compounded oral semaglutide tablets

Oral tabletsCompounded
$345/mo
tirzepatide

Compounded oral tirzepatide tablets

What each price covers

Both prices cover the clinician visit and shipping.

Tru2u's price also covers the medication itself, which EllieMD does not claim.

EllieMD is silent on the medication itself and coaching.

Tru2u is silent on lab work and coaching.

That matters most for the drug: unless EllieMD confirms otherwise, budget for medication on top of its listed price.

EllieMD

Covered by the monthly price

Medication

Not stated

Clinician visits

In the price

Shipping

In the price

Lab work

Charged on top

Coaching

Not stated

Tru2u

Covered by the monthly price

Medication

In the price

Clinician visits

In the price

Shipping

In the price

Lab work

Not stated

Coaching

Not stated

Where each one scores higher

Overall, Tru2u scores 6.8 and EllieMD 5.8 out of 10.

EllieMD is stronger on value (5.3 vs 3.6).

Tru2u is stronger on user experience (8.0 vs 3.0), trust & safety (6.5 vs 4.0) and support (7.0 vs 4.0).

Effectiveness and accessibility are within half a point.

How we score

EllieMD

5.8/10

Overall

Tru2u

6.8/10

Value25%

5.3A
vs
B
3.6

Effectiveness25%

10.0A
vs
B
10.0

User Experience15%

3.0A
vs
B
8.0

Trust & Safety15%

4.0A
vs
B
6.5

Accessibility10%

5.0A
vs
B
5.0

Support10%

4.0A
vs
B
7.0

FDA warning letters

Neither EllieMD nor Tru2u has an FDA warning letter on record with us.

Features & Coverage

FeatureEllieMDTru2u
Starting Price$229/mo✓$225/mo
Features2 features✓5 features
States AvailableNot disclosedNot disclosed
Compounded✓ Yes✓ Yes
Brand Name——
FSA/HSA Accepted——
FDA Warning LettersNoneNone

About EllieMD

EllieMD is a women-focused telehealth weight loss clinic that prescribes GLP-1 medications.

Read our full EllieMD review →

About Tru2u

Prices are shown before you buy, on a subscription billed monthly with shipping included. The weight-loss shelf holds compounded tablets of tirzepatide and semaglutide taken orally, injectable versions of both, and a GLP Squared combination shot, sitting beside supplement, skincare and hair lines. A consult with a licensed clinician has to happen before anything is prescribed, and an unaffiliated third-party pharmacy takes the order. Only US residents are served.

Read our full Tru2u review →

Pros & Cons

EllieMD

What we like

  • Tirzepatide costs $239 a month, close to the $250 median for compounded tirzepatide across the sellers we compare
  • The monthly price includes clinician visits and shipping
  • We found no FDA warning letters issued to EllieMD

Watch-outs

  • Semaglutide costs $229 a month, 24% above the $185 median for compounded semaglutide across the sellers we compare
  • You only see a price after finishing the medical intake, so you cannot compare costs before sharing health information
  • Not included in the monthly price: lab work
  • Confirm it serves your state before you start the intake
  • Ask which pharmacy fills the prescription before you pay, so you can check its license
  • Its semaglutide and tirzepatide are compounded rather than FDA-approved, so they have not been reviewed by the agency for safety, effectiveness or manufacturing quality

Tru2u

What we like

  • Shows its price before the medical questionnaire, so you can compare it without handing over health information
  • The monthly price stays the same as your dose goes up
  • The monthly price includes the medication, clinician visits and shipping
  • We found no FDA warning letters issued to Tru2u

Watch-outs

  • Semaglutide costs $225 a month, 22% above the $185 median for compounded semaglutide across the sellers we compare
  • Tirzepatide costs $345 a month, 38% above the $250 median for compounded tirzepatide across the sellers we compare
  • Confirm it serves your state before you start the intake
  • Ask which pharmacy fills the prescription before you pay, so you can check its license
  • Its semaglutide and tirzepatide are compounded rather than FDA-approved, so they have not been reviewed by the agency for safety, effectiveness or manufacturing quality

Our Verdict

Winner: Tru2u

Tru2u wins this one, 6.8 to 5.8, above all for an oral route if you will not self-inject. It also costs $4 less each month than EllieMD.

Choose EllieMD if…

You want broader feature coverage and an opening price near $229 a month.

Choose Tru2u if…

You want an oral route if you will not self-inject and an opening price near $225 a month.

Ready to start? GLP-1 providers we have vetted

Telehealth providers, vetted by us, prescribing GLP-1 online.

Vetted by our editors · no insurance required

Some of the links on this page earn us money. If you sign up with a provider after following one, that provider may pay GLP Watchdog a commission. Learn more

7.8

Oak

Semaglutide at $119/month, 37% below the typical price

9.4

Trimi Health

Knowing which pharmacy fills the vial: it names VialsRx

6.4

ShedRx

Oral orforglipron alongside the injectables

EllieMD vs Tru2u: FAQ

Tru2u. It starts at $225 a month; EllieMD starts at $229 a month, $4 more per month.
Yes, both sell semaglutide and tirzepatide.
EllieMD does not publish where it ships; Tru2u does not publish where it ships. Confirm your state before paying.
Both include the clinician visit and shipping. Only Tru2u includes the medication itself.
EllieMD has none. Tru2u has none.
No. Neither EllieMD nor Tru2u pays us anything.

Or see the full category ranking.